Some Beautiful Poetry To Muse Over….

17 Jul

I discovered Tara Mohr via Big Think  ( a website where thinkers from any discipline can put forth their ‘big ideas’ via video or text). She posted a really interesting video about Fear (There are two types….I’ve put her video up on the Inspiration Page).  It’s worth looking at.

I recently discovered she also writes poetry and here’s a sample…………..

The Quiet Power
I walked backwards, against time
and that’s where I caught the moon
singing at me.
I steeped downwards, into my seat
and that’s where I caught freedom
waiting for me like a lilac.
I ended thought, and I ended story.
I stopped designing, and arguing, and
sculpting a happy life.
I didn’t die. I didn’t turn to dust.
Instead I chopped vegetables,
and made a calm lake in me
where the water was clear and sourced and still.
And when the ones I loved came to it,
I had something to give them, and
it offered them a soft road out of pain.
I became beloved.
And I came to know that this was it.
The quiet power.
I could give something mighty, lasting,
that stopped the wheel of chaos,
by tending to the river inside,
keeping the water rich and deep,
keeping a bench for you to visit.

4 Responses to “Some Beautiful Poetry To Muse Over….”

  1. honeybeegardencare July 19, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    I feel exactly what Tara is talking about and she has worded it so beautifully, I feel moved by it:)

    • committen389 July 19, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

      Sharon,

      So glad you liked it. She’s a really interesting lady, worth checking out. I’ll be in contact over the weekend with a gentle reminder about next week’s meeting. Hope all is well. Great to see you on our blog!

      Peeps United!

      Nicky

      • honeybeegardencare July 19, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

        Wow, you’re fast! I haven’t forgotten next week’s meeting, I’ll be there, I have your email open to reply right now, I am just very slow at organising my thoughts in to a coherent sentence!

  2. honeybeegardencare July 19, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    Though, that one was fast for me!

Leave a Reply

