Kobo Art

26 Nov

Hi everyone, I’m back and feel amazingly privileged to have been appointed the English-Art correspondent for Artipeeps! Better make this a good one…..

In my last blog I gave you an insight into my excruciating lack of Twitter knowledge and how I have stumbled through (so far) with my grand plans to reach out to the world and share my artwork to inspire generations to come!!!

Pure luck combined with random persistence meant I somehow managed to get my paintings noticed by ‘Show Us Your Art’ and it was their exhibition in Middlesborough and the feedback and contacts made since then, that led to me moving up the Twitter ladder, from ’Twitter Virgin’ to ‘Twitter Novice’ I suppose, which is a title I am very proud of. A title which, in itself, is an improvement from that of the ‘Twitter Ignoramus’, who basically smashes his fists on the keyboard and gently weeps.

I am now finding Twitter to be an amazing tool for making new contacts and for meeting potential new patrons and have managed to accumulate close to 2000 ‘followers’ basically, I think, by just being myself, trying to be helpful with the limited knowledge I have on the subject, and not going on about myself all the time.

It seems to me that spending about 80% of my ‘Twittertime’ offering advice, and commenting on others’ posts and 20% talking about my own accomplishments (limited though they are to date) seems about right.

I have even found out what ‘hashttag’ means. As in hashtag “EPIC”…..from that annoying TV/Radio advert. I always wondered what the shouty guy was going on about and now I know. Basically you place the ‘#’ in front of a word in one of your tweets and this might be one of the key words that people search for…..so your tweet could come up countless times from people entering keywords which you have ‘hashtagged’.

Wow I didn’t think I would go on about ‘hashtags’ for quite so long as a few days ago, when I didn’t know what they were. Blimey must stop now. Oh ‘hashtags’….right that’s it. Also everyone reading this probably knows exactly what they are and I’m back to being a Twitter ignoramus; oh well, I’m cool with that.

Right, I’d better start talking about the actual topic of this blog now – Kobo Art:

http://www.koboart.com/

A friend of mine, Tahir Shah, who now lives and works in Dubai, happened to ‘like’ some of my paintings, which I had uploaded onto Twitter and this lead to the founders of Kobo Art, Shan and Tiya Fazelbhoy, who are associates of Tahir, taking an interest in my work.

I had an email from them asking if I would mind if they uploaded some of my paintings onto their site and collaborate with them in the promotion of my artwork.

Naturally I was overjoyed. Tahir is something of an entrepreneur and one of his new ventures is ‘Moto Roti’, a brand new approach to Pakistani take away in the style of a Subway restaurant. – high quality, healthy, Pakistani food on the go.  Cooking can be as equally creative as composing a piece of artwork or painting a picture. Since University I have been in regular contact with Tahir and below is his last message to me.

“James, I’m trying to make that bread that my mum made, when we were at Uni, famous. If Mexico have their burrito, and Turkey its pitta bread why can’t roti be used as wraps? Imagine my mum’s food that you used to eat, as the filings, healthy and delicious!”

Tahir is clearly trying to produce food formed from not only his own personal history,  but also his own culinary imagination and creativity, and it is transparent that this passion has fed into his other ventures. I could go on about how delicious the food produced at Moti Roti is, but that is for another time…but here is a link!  http://www.motiroti.me/

“Dubai-based entrepreneur has comfort food all wrapped up”

And you can read an article here:

http://www.thenational.ae/thenationalconversation/industry-insights/the-life/dubai-based-entrepreneur-has-comfort-food-all-wrapped-up#ixzz2D9CDgDPL

Ok, so Kobo Art is an online art gallery launched in May 2012. Kobo provides a platform for showcasing upcoming UAE (United Arab Emirates) based artists and their aim is to make art accessible and affordable.

As you need to be based in the UAE to have your artwork advertised on the Kobo art site, they also have a range of international artists on their very popular Facebook site. http://www.facebook.com/KoboArt

This is linked to the main site and a page has been very kindly dedicated to my artwork:

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.440982062611429.98478.385855944790708&type=3

The premise of the company is to provide art lovers with a platform and opportunity to sell and buy high quality original art that is accessible and affordable, and they say that they are committed to providing a platform for upcoming artists to showcase their work and for art enthusiasts to be able to start a collection or add to an existing one.

Through their website, and also very popular private viewings Kobo aim to build a community for artists and art lovers and hope to enhance the visibility of art via an online presence, where quality art work is easily available.

“Art is about what appeals to your senses and adds beauty to your life, whether in your home or work place or given as a gift through our Kobo vouchers.”

“The idea to set-up this business literally just popped into my head one evening about a year back. It sounded like an idea worth pursuing and ever since, it has been a question of working towards making it a reality.” Shan Fazelbhoy

We started Kobo to provide a platform for UAE based artists to exhibit their art and the positive response has been overwhelming”  Tiya Fazelbhoy

Shan also says that during this process, it would obviously be difficult to identify any one thing as a challenge; they had to stay focused, working systematically, one step at a time towards their goal. Of course, (they say) they have encountered frustrations along the way but none of these have been insurmountable. Their motivating factor has and continues to be the opportunity to be involved in something that they love while providing a space for artists, building a community and creating awareness that art can and is for everybody.

“The positive response from people, especially artists, here in the U.A.E. and internationally has been immense and is a huge help in reinforcing the fact that we are providing a much needed service which in turn is an impetus to constantly work towards and build on what we have set out to do.” Tiya Fazelbhoy

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

James Mackenzie Chilling in Dubai!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Those of you who read my previous blog, may see a theme  emerging here.

I sincerely believe that there should be simple ways to allow previously unrecognised artists and their work to seen by the general public. The intervention of new technology such as Twitter and Facebook and other social media means that, at last, Art can be seen by all and new talents enjoyed by anyone.

I have always had a passion for art and was encouraged by teachers, family and friends who told me that I had a talent. As a result I have always created, whether it was for an exhibition or just for personal pleasure.

For me there is nothing as exciting as a blank canvas. I love to completely immerse myself in my art without even the distraction of music. I can work for hours in an almost educed state just creating a purely original piece of artwork containing my own thoughts and visions.

I have accumulated a mass of artwork over the years that has just been stored away all over the house, for no one other than me to see and keep locked away in the back of my mind.

The internet has been an amazing tool to allow me to unveil this work to whoever cares to see it. I have generally been overwhelmed by the response to my artwork and this has inspired me to produce more and as a result one of our bedrooms has now been converted into an art studio!

I take so much pleasure in creating art. For decades I have been disillusioned by the whole art scene. Now I can instantly upload my latest paintings to my website and get an instant response! Truly amazing.

The internet and the injection of social media has made such a difference to my life and, no doubt that of countless other previously undiscovered and similarly disenchanted artists.

*

You can follow Jamie via Twitter:

https://twitter.com/jmackenzieart

or look at his artwork on his website:

http://www.mackenzieart.co.uk _________________________________________________________________________________________________________

ARTIPEEPS NEWS:

  • If you haven’t already found it you can  find your  second dose of flash fiction with Laura Besley -Here:  ‘Flash Fortnightly’ 
  • A new recurring strands starts this week : ‘Classic Friday’. Watch out for the first instalment on Friday 30th, Stimulating Classic Literature reviews with NISHA MOODLEY
  • Also there’s our FabFiction And Poetry Page featuring KATE GARRETTTIFFANY COFFMAN & KARIN HEYER. Please do get in contact with me if you’d like to contribute to this page- Either via the comment box or Twitter @ArtiPeeps
  • Oh yes, and I’m pleased to say we’re going to be shortly adding some Music orientated blogs with our latest new contributor TANIA HALBAN
6 Responses to “Kobo Art”

  1. Chief Mota November 26, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    I have never called you James! Great write-up man keep it going

    • ArtiPeep November 27, 2012 at 5:38 am #

      Dear Chief Mota,
      Thanks very much for your comment :-). Much appreciated! ArtiPeeps is really pleased to have given James the opportunity to write about Koboart and to draw attention to the opportunities available for artists there. The more platforms and access points to art and artists the better! All the very best.

  2. jmackenzie2012 November 26, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    And I have never called you Tahir but there you go! Glad you liked the write up, so you should haha…….You seem to have forgotten to ‘like’ the write up that you like so much!! Quickly…….. 🙂

  3. nickspur1 November 29, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    Really enjoyed the post and wanted to see more of your work, so I went to your website gallery. I particularly loved the Desolate Blue series. You are clearly a very talented artist.

    • jmackenzie2012 November 30, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      Nick I cannot tell you how much that means to me. Thank you so much for your comment and taking the time to view more of my artwork in the gallery section of my website.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kobo Art Collaboration | nordicblackbird.com - November 27, 2012

    […] Kobo Art. Fresh from the press and own palette, we have a collaboration starting. It’s got to do with present, now. I shall choose my god or ghost carefully, as with zest from jolly giant – the very one that comes to mind is no other than […]

Leave a Reply

