Flash Fortnightly #3

5 Dec

Words 2

 

Welcome to Flash Fortnightly! 

Laura BesleyMy name is Laura Besley and I’m an EFL (English as a Foreign Language) teacher. Over the years I’ve met thousands of students of all ages from many different countries in the world. This job really suits me as I love meeting people and learning about different languages and cultures. After working in England for a couple of years, I moved to Düsseldorf, Germany, where I taught Business English for two years and now I’m living in Hong Kong. This small pocket of Asia is a perfect blend of East meets West and is rich in colour, noise and inspiration.

That brings me nicely onto writing. I’ve been writing on and off since childhood and did my degree in English Literature and Film Studies. When I was in Germany I started writing a bit more regularly and in Hong Kong I’ve really had the time to dedicate to my writing. In 2011 I joined the Hong Kong Writers Circle and a critique group which allowed me to start looking at my work with a more critical eye. On 4th May 2012 I embarked on a project to write one piece of flash fiction a day. I’ve always seen myself as a novelist, but actually I’ve found that I really love writing short pieces as it gives you plenty of room to experiment with style, voice, characters and settings. And each day I can write something new.

I hope you enjoy this ‘Flash Fortnightly’ entry and I’ll be back on Wednesday 19th December for some more…

_____________________________________________________________________________________

A Burnt Orange Sari

She wrapped the yards of silk around herself and thought, not for the first time that day, why am I doing this? The sari was burnt-orange with red, yellow and gold circles of varying sizes and gold stitching on the seams. It was beautiful, she couldn’t deny that, but she would give it back in an instant if she didn’t have to go through with today.

As she was clipping it into place, her younger sister bounded into the room. “You look pretty!” she said.
“Thank you, Rosita.”
“He will love you immediately, I know it!”
She smiled at her sister who knew nothing about the boy from school she loved. “Maybe,” she said. Hopefully not.
“Definitely.” Her sister skipped out of the room.

She turned to look at herself in the mirror. Her eyes were lined with black kohl pencil, her skin smooth with pale foundation, her lips painted deep red. To be a good daughter, that was a high price to pay.

Laura Besley

This piece was inspired by a picture I saw on facebook. I have no idea who the woman is or what her home situation is, but the burnt orange sari was beautiful and that was what made me write this piece.

If you’d like to check out more of my writing, flash fiction and non-fiction, check out my  blog: Living Loving and Writing. Or you can follow me on twitter @laurabesley

Leave a Reply

