Flash Fortnightly #4

19 Dec

Words 2

Welcome to Flash Fortnightly! 

Laura BesleyMy name is Laura Besley and I’m an EFL (English as a Foreign Language) teacher. Over the years I’ve met thousands of students of all ages from many different countries in the world. This job really suits me as I love meeting people and learning about different languages and cultures. After working in England for a couple of years, I moved to Düsseldorf, Germany, where I taught Business English for two years and now I’m living in Hong Kong. This small pocket of Asia is a perfect blend of East meets West and is rich in colour, noise and inspiration.

That brings me nicely onto writing. I’ve been writing on and off since childhood and did my degree in English Literature and Film Studies. When I was in Germany I started writing a bit more regularly and in Hong Kong I’ve really had the time to dedicate to my writing. In 2011 I joined the Hong Kong Writers Circle and a critique group which allowed me to start looking at my work with a more critical eye. On 4th May 2012 I embarked on a project to write one piece of flash fiction a day. I’ve always seen myself as a novelist, but actually I’ve found that I really love writing short pieces as it gives you plenty of room to experiment with style, voice, characters and settings. And each day I can write something new.

I hope you enjoy this ‘Flash Fortnightly’ entry and I’ll be back on Wednesday 9th January 2013 for some more…

_______________________________________________________________________________

Unfair Proposal

But I haven’t even known you for forty-eight hours,” she said.

But hasn’t this been the best weekend of your life?”

Yes,” she cried, “definitely!”

Same here. We could do this every weekend.”

What, stay in a luxurious hotel and eat out in expensive restaurants? Real life isn’t like that, Rafael.”

Ok, maybe not every weekend would be like this one, but we could build a life together.”

Yes, a life,” she said. “If we’ve got our whole lives to spend together why do I have to give you an answer now?”

I can’t explain it,” he said, “but I need to know now.”

Are you dodgy?”

Dodgy?” he queried.

You know,” she whispered, “a criminal.”

No, darling, I’m not a criminal. I’ve just fallen in love with you and want to marry you.”

But…I still don’t understand why we can’t wait.”

I need to know your answer before I get on the plane tonight.”

Then, I’m afraid I’m going to have to say no. I don’t know enough about you.”

That’s a real shame.”

This is the last call for flight VY250 to Milan.

I’ve got to go.”

Thanks for a great weekend.”

She would never know why he had insisted on an answer there and then. He would never find out if someone could love him for him, and not his money.

Laura Besley

This piece was inspired by a true story.

If you’d like to check out more of my writing, flash fiction and non-fiction, check out my  blog: Living Loving and Writing. Or you can follow me on twitter @laurabesley

Leave a Reply

