Frenzy’s Flash Feature #3

31 Jan

FrenzyofFiles2

Welcome To Frenzy’s Flash Feature!

Your fortnightly Poetry/Photo Combo with Greg Mackie

Poet, dreamer, self-confessed idiot. Addicted to chocolate and crisps, he regrets having cancelled his last two dental appointments. Attempts to write stuff. 

http://frenzyofflies.tumblr.com

https://twitter.com/FrenzyOfFlies

We hope you enjoy this  ‘Frenzy’s Flash Feature’ entry. Greg will be be back with another great combination on Thursday 14th  February 2013. 

_____________________________________

brandnew

The Brand-New Me

by Greg Mackie

.

I didn’t see it coming,

Although it happens every year,

And the complete and utter shock,

Has left me drowning in my tears.

My trousers have all shrunk,

And my shirts have all changed size.

I’ve got nothing left to wear,

Except some socks and a wrinkled tie.

.

I need to give myself a shake,

Before it’s finally too late,

I need to get down to the gym,

And get back into decent shape.

It’s time to count those calories,

And eat those low fat meals,

It’s time to shed those extra pounds,

And roll back twenty years.

.

I want to be trim and healthy,

And I’m determined to make it last,

Those fish and chips and chocolate bars,

Are sins of a forgotten past.

I’m going to eat five a day

Until my curves do melt.

Carrot sticks and celery,

Until my figure’s svelte.

.

And if I’m really well behaved,

As a very special treat,

I might be tempted to enjoy,

a prize of my favourite sweets.

So, to celebrate the brand-new me,

A man who’s in control,

I’ll start my diet that’s for sure,

Just, after this one, last, sausage roll.


6 Responses to “Frenzy’s Flash Feature #3”

  1. laurabesley January 31, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    Loved it! Really made me smile 🙂

  2. frenzyofflies January 31, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    Thanks Laura! I appreciate your comment very much, and I’m really glad that you enjoyed it 🙂

  3. M January 31, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

    Very inspirational – I’ve been hitting the goodies too hard myself without enough exercise. I’m starting a healthier eating style today with you, and some yoga too 🙂 You are wonderful!

    • frenzyofflies January 31, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

      Ah…. the mysterious M strikes again 😉
      Strangely, and in a rather unexpected bout of self-discipline, I DID actually manage to get to the gym today… 😉
      Thank you very much, and best of luck with the Brand-New you! 🙂

      • M January 31, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

        Thank you for your inspiration and support! I understand the self-discipline issue. I don’t have much at all in the exercising domain. Fortunately, I have a job that requires me to stand, walk, bend, stretch, and lift throughout my shift for 5 evenings per week. Sort of a workout that pays the bills. 😀 I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be exercising otherwise. I’m proud of you!

  4. frenzyofflies February 1, 2013 at 8:55 am #

    Thank YOU for your support and motivation! I might actually go back to the gym today… 😉

Leave a Reply

