ArtiPeeps Weekend Showcase: Shaun Blezard (Audio Visual Artist)

8 Feb

Spotlight

Every Friday, 1 artist/painter/poet/writer, letting their work speak for itself.

Do get in touch if you would like to be showcased.

_____

.

SHAUN BLEZARD

.

 Clutter live at Open Circuit – Lanternhouse, Ulverston, Cumbria on March 17th 2012.

Film is a slowed down version of Lanternhouse I by Shaun Blezard.

All sounds used are recordings of Lanternhouse and form part of an improvised set.

Original material made during my artist residency at Lanternhouse in 2011 – cumbriaremixed.blogspot.co.uk

‘Everything will pass, and the world will perish but the Ninth Symphony will remain.’ Mikhail Bakunin

___________

.

I am a freelance audio visual artist living in Cumbria. I earn a living making music, sound design, graphic design, web design, films and helping people use technology in creative ways. I started out playing bass guitar in 1986 and have been playing live ever since. My current set up involves laptop, iPad, iPhone and a host of effects pedals. I love to improvise and create work in the moment and also collaborate with other creatives. I have made work for theatre, dance, installations, concerts, albums and enjoy the challenge of commissioned work. 

My work tends to be very influenced by environment and I have been working with field recordings for a number of years, taking the sounds of certain spaces and using them to create sound work. I look for interesting rhythms and melodies in the sound around us and edit and mould these into improvised soundscapes, trying to create audio snapshots of the emotion and feel of a place.

I am currently using this type of process to help create work dealing with depression. I have suffered from depression most of my life and after a particularly bad episode in 2012 I have been looking at ways my creative life and my condition can inform each other, but also to find ways to help each other. This has led me to start A Safe Space, a blog/arts project looking at mental health, creativity and technology and finding ways in which they meet.

The first A Safe Space project is a commission to produce a one hour sound art radio show in March 2013 for arts organisation Octopus Collective, using live broadcasts of ‘safe spaces’ and people’s ideas of what safe spaces are to them, whether physical of mental space, how this helps them recover from bad feelings.

shaunblezard.net

 asafespaceblog.wordpress.com

.

You’ll be seeing more of Shaun’s work in a special mini ArtiPeeps collaboration we’re having on the theme of ‘recovery’. Shaun will  be providing some music to underpin the work of 3 artists and 3 poets collaborating together. The piece is due out at the end of April/ May. 

Leave a Reply

