Frenzy’s Flash Feature #4

14 Feb

FrenzyofFiles2

Welcome To Frenzy’s Flash Feature!

Your fortnightly Poetry/Photo Combo with Greg Mackie

Poet, dreamer, self-confessed idiot. Addicted to chocolate and crisps, he regrets having cancelled his last two dental appointments. Attempts to write stuff. 

http://frenzyofflies.tumblr.com

https://twitter.com/FrenzyOfFlies

We hope you enjoy this  ‘Frenzy’s Flash Feature’ entry. Greg will be be back with another great combination on Thursday 28th  February 2013. 

_____________________________________

Original photography by Greg Mackie

NOT A LOVE POEM

by Greg Mackie

.

I know this is a special day,

And this might sound quite rude,

But I’ve had it up to here with love,

I’m just not in the mood.

They say that it’s cathartic,

To get it off your chest,

But the more I talk about  it,

The more I get depressed.

.

My love life is a mess,

It gets worse every day.

Cupid’s gone on strike,

He says romance doesn’t pay.

I won’t go into details,

You can read on without fear, 

I have absolutely no intention,

Of boring you to tears.

.

My lips are sealed, I won’t complain,

About the sorrow and pain.

I won’t use depressing metaphors,

Or words that rhyme with rain.

Rest assured, you’ll never know,

About my prayers for a second chance,

Or those days I spent in limbo,

Like a zombie in a dead-eyed trance.

.

I won’t compare our fleeting love,

To a flame of burning hope.

Those poetic and romantic words,

Just make me look a dope.

I won’t speak of our heaven,

That so quickly turned to hell,

Or the lonely nights spent drinking wine,

And listening to Adele.

.

The only thing I will say,

And I’ll mean it, every word,

Is that I’ve never met a girl like you,

In this whole, wide stupid world.

And if I did believe in romance, 

And the power of poetry,

I’d send a poem, and a tender kiss,

To you, this Valentine’s day.


6 Responses to “Frenzy’s Flash Feature #4”

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) February 14, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    Brilliant poetry Greg. So well expressed, but still a little sad (which usually gives the best poems)

  2. frenzyofflies February 14, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    Thanks Björn! Your comment really means a lot to me! The poem IS a little sad, but at the end of the day, the sadness of losing love is hopefully still a price worth paying for having known its happiness 🙂

  3. Laura February 15, 2013 at 1:05 am #

    Great poem, Greg, and beautiful photo of roses!

    • frenzyofflies February 15, 2013 at 8:48 am #

      Thanks very much Laura! Luckily, my love life is pretty much a goldmine for humour… ;)) Happy Valentine’s to you! 🙂

  4. perthians April 2, 2013 at 11:33 am #

    Bahaha love this 🙂 sorry I should sympathise :-/

    • frenzyofflies April 5, 2013 at 2:17 pm #

      Yes…. you should! 😉 Thanks anyway! :))

Leave a Reply

