Frenzy’s Flash Feature #6

14 Mar

FrenzyofFiles2

Welcome To Frenzy’s Flash Feature!

Your fortnightly Poetry/Photo Combo with Greg Mackie

Poet, dreamer, self-confessed idiot. Addicted to chocolate and crisps, he regrets having cancelled his last two dental appointments. Attempts to write stuff. 

http://frenzyofflies.tumblr.com

https://twitter.com/FrenzyOfFlies

We hope you enjoy this  ‘Frenzy’s Flash Feature’ entry. Greg will be be back with another great combination on Thursday 28th  March 2013

 

_____________________________________

a model town by Greg Mackie

A Model Town

by Greg Mackie

They say fake it till you make it,
But at this rate I’m gonna break it.
This old pink mask is made of plastic,
It’s full of cracks, I think it’s past it.

I’m a plastic man, in a plastic town,
When that neon sun, comes to melt me down,
The hopes and dreams of my teenage years,
WIll rainbow the dirt with gasoline tears.

Let’s share a taco, and a timezone.
I screwed it up, the fault is my own.
But this is life, it’s not a warzone,
I just need kicking, up the comfort zone.

Maybe if I drove along your freeways,
I would have seen those things more clearly.
But in this town, there are no free ways,
Instead of love, I gave you clichés.
 

 

5 Responses to “Frenzy’s Flash Feature #6”

  1. C.J. Sullivan March 17, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

    I like it.

  2. frenzyofflies March 17, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    Thank you, I appreciate you having read it, and I am very glad that you enjoyed it 🙂
    And… thanks very, very much for saying so! 😉

    • laurabesley March 19, 2013 at 8:27 am #

      Brilliant, as always, Greg. “I’m a plastic man, in a plastic town” could be true of so many (fake) societies these days…

      • frenzyofflies March 19, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

        Thank you Laura, very much appreciated! In today’s society, we’re constantly being bombarded by a thousand contradictory trues, maybe there’s virtue in a respectable lie? 😉

      • laurabesley March 31, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

        Maybe there is! 😉

Leave a Reply

