‘Neon Power’: The Journals of Lili Morgan (Emerging Abstract Neon Artist)

21 Mar

Revolution Green

A month or so has gone by  since Lili left her Visitor Peep/Artist In Residence position, and now she has returned for her regular fortnightly blog-spot. Lili will be taking us alongside with her on her painterly journey and the development of her work with ‘neons’. While Lili’s with us we’ll also be setting her up with a mini- collaboration and Lili will have access to mentoring if needed. It’s also worth mentioning that we are presently pulling together our next Visitor Peep project. Watch this space! 

Without further ado…here’s Lili:

‘Well, I really don’t know where the time has gone since my last journal entry? I have now realised though that writing for @Artipeep really does help keep me motivated with my art work. I love painting and I find it so pleasurable, but I have this weird thing whereby I can only do it when I am in the right frame of mind. As I don’t have a studio at the moment, so my house also has to be tidy first as well. It is almost a bit of a ritual, which has come as a little bit of a surprise! 

I have also had doubts about my ability. I think I just need to get over myself really, as I know that what I am doing isn’t going to be the most liked. Most people won’t get it, and I also need to get over people looking at it and saying, “Oh yeah, you just splat that on don’t you!” The neon paint is extremely thin and hard to manipulate like normal acrylic paint. My picture “On the right side” was pretty hard to, “just splat” as was “Atomic Number 10”

The Right Side

The Right Side

Atomic 10

Atomic 10

Anyway, moan over. It’s not in my nature to be so negative, so on with the positive. I have loads of new ideas and I am going to be totally experimenting over the next few weeks by mixing it right up. I have found my excitement and I can’t wait to get cracking on with my artistic adventure. The doubt has passed and my enthusiasm is back! Yay me! Power to the neons! Power to Lili Morgan! Lili Morgan is back! Neon power! Lili power! Whoop Whoop!

Sorry, just making up for my lack of direction over the last few weeks. Soo need to get over myself! 😉

Lastly this week I thought I would write a little poem. So here it is:

>>

“Oh to be an artist…”

>>

Oh to be an artist,

With attitude and flair,

Oh to be an artist,

Who doesn’t really care.

>>>

Shall I brush it lightly?

Or lay it on real thick?

Which part of my neons,

Are gonna really stick?

>>>

The neons are now talking,

And what is it they say?

They’re tired of my balking,

And need to have their way.

>>>

Oh to be an artist,

With attitude and flair,

Oh to be an artist…

>>>>>>>

Actually no one cares. Find your flair. Do some painting. Stop moaning. Stop doubting. Not everyone will like it. So what? Do you know what? You really do need to get over yourself! Stop over thinking. You never learn. You always over think. It never helps. It just makes you, make things a hundred times harder for yourself. So just don’t think. Just get on with it!!….

Oh, and lastly, always be gentle on yourself!

Apologies to any established poets that may have read that. I am sure the end makes no poetical sense at all. I will be back in a fortnight, totally over myself, with hopefully more pictures to show you. Until then, take care.’

Love Lili x

You can find more of Lili’s work and journaling under the Visitor Peep Tab on our menu.

Follow Lili on Twitter here

One Response to “‘Neon Power’: The Journals of Lili Morgan (Emerging Abstract Neon Artist)”

  1. ArtiPeep March 26, 2013 at 7:35 am #

    Dear all, Just wanted to let you know that even though I think what Lili will be producing for us via her journal will be great, I don’t usually as part of ArtiPeeps protocol ‘like’ what I post out. The fact that I have liked an ArtiPeeps post is a mistake, and something I would not normally do. Unfortunately I can’t remove it. Someone near and dear to me signed in as me by accident. My apologies, and thanks for your understanding. Nicky

Leave a Reply

