Frenzy’s Flash Feature #7

28 Mar

FrenzyofFiles2

Welcome To Frenzy’s Flash Feature!

Your fortnightly Poetry/Photo Combo with Greg Mackie

Poet, dreamer, self-confessed idiot. Addicted to chocolate and crisps, he regrets having cancelled his last two dental appointments. Attempts to write stuff. 

http://frenzyofflies.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/FrenzyOfFlies

We hope you enjoy this  ‘Frenzy’s Flash Feature’ entry. Greg will be be back with another great combination on Thursday 11th  April 2013

_____________________________________

>

alone[1]

>

RETRO METRO ROMANCE

 by Greg Mackie

>

There’s an old man on the metro, 

An accordion man.

He’s playing Edith Piaf, 

And I’m watching his hands.

His fingers are dancing, 

On keys black and white,

He’s lost in his music, 

He’s lost in the night.

>

Accordion man, 

Will you play me a tune? 

Accordion man, 

Will you give me the moon? 

Take me back to the time,

When we were happy and free, 

And before this mad world, 

Took her so far from me.

>

His music brings memories,

Of a faraway land.

Under a bright moonlit sky,

We walk hand in hand.

There’s a magical garden, 

Red flowers, a blue stream.

We lie down on green grass,

And together we dream.

>

I could stay here forever, 

With you in my arms,

Happy and warm, 

Under a blanket of stars.

I close my eyes shut,

To remember your smile.

And I wish I could hold you, 

But you’re no longer mine.

>

The music continues, 

He plays on and on.

Ten metro stations,

Have vanished and gone.

He’s so lost in his music, 

He did not even see,

That all the tourists got off,

To see the Bastille.

>

He bows and he smiles, 

His music like wine.

I’m drunk and I’m dizzy, 

But empty inside.

I give him a coin, 

Une pièce de deux euros.

And ask when do I see,

La vie en rose?

>

Accordion man, 

Will you play me a tune? 

Accordion man, 

Will you give me the moon? 

Take me back to the time,

That I never shall see, 

Take me back to the days 

When my love still loved me.

>>>

7 Responses to “Frenzy’s Flash Feature #7”

  1. Nisha March 29, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    Wow, incredible. My favourite so far, Greg! 😀

    • frenzyofflies April 3, 2013 at 7:37 am #

      Thanks, Nisha! I was going for a slightly different style, so I’m particularly glad that you liked it 🙂

  2. pandamoniumcat March 31, 2013 at 2:34 am #

    Like one of those old black and white romantic movies…really lovely!

    • frenzyofflies April 3, 2013 at 7:39 am #

      Thanks very, very much! I’m happy you enjoyed it, and I really appreciate your comment 🙂

  3. laurabesley March 31, 2013 at 11:41 am #

    I have a ‘thing’ about lampposts (shh, don’t tell anyone!) and the photo alone would’ve been enough, but the poem adds a depth to the photo that is phenomenal. Beautiful.

    • frenzyofflies April 3, 2013 at 7:40 am #

      It’s ok, Laura, your secret is safe with me… 😉 Thanks very much for your lovely comment, I appreciate it enormously! 🙂

      • laurabesley April 5, 2013 at 9:00 am #

        Very welcome, as always!

Leave a Reply

