‘The Seas that Ring the World’ Ring 1/5: Transformations Poems (Book 2)

2 Apr

TRANSFORMATIONS

George Braque Metamorphoses

February 2013-March 2014

17 poets, 15 months, creating 1 contemporary reworking of Ovid’s Metamorphoses

See the Transformations Page for more details or the ‘Present Collaborations’ Tab

__________________

 Poems Inspired by Book 2 

Featuring:

Carol Robson, Richard Biddle and Sadaf Fatima

>>>>>>>>

>>

A God’s Pleasure

by Carol Robson

>

Loves yearning stirs

adoration of your beauty

your beauteous figure

of olive satiny skin

befitting the bearing

of a Phoenician Princess.

>>

Trickery and deceit

before transformation

that you will love

the God transformed.

The statuesque beauty

of the white bull

entrances you

beyond your belief

as he carries you

away from your family

that you shall be only

for him as a Queen.

>>

Taken away from family

your beauty and love

is for him only

never to be shared

only for a God’s pleasure.

>>

© Carol Robson 2013

.

.>>

Bad Trip *

by Richard Biddle

>

The boy stood trembling and marvelling at the strangeness of it all…’

>

i)

Now I know there was no palace, where your hair glittered

like sea spray and you offered me a message written

on blotting paper, said I’d find sunshine in an ink stain;

>

an orb, a strobing disco-light-mirror-ball, a revolution.

>

You removed the oh and you removed the you, replaced

it with A & E. Taken in by its golden means, I thought

the haloed footlights were dust flowers and that the lit

>

air was swimming, with tropical fish, I tried to catch.

>

A revelation.

>>>>>>>>>They fell through my hands like quicksilver.

>>

ii)

While pointing at the moon with a crooked finger, you

showed me a fire escape, said it was a ladder to the stars,

a resolution. Was I the solar-powered progeny climbing,

rising, coming up? A solution.

>

Raised bright with polished waters and shifting signs, I

could not digest what I felt. Those pounding speakers

boomed their melodious beats as the drug took possession

of me. An empty-mouthed soothsayer spoke my lips,

>

avoid the bull’s horns, the Archer’s arrows, the Lion’s

jaw, the scorpion’s cruel pincers and the crab’s claws

>

One by one these vicious zodiacs dissolved and a punishing

bpm pounded through my blood. I was a gleaming, shining,

ball of confused atoms, an immortal mortal, radiated.

>

Rushing out, they tore through my mind-mist. I was lifted by

this buzzing but terrified, unable to handle not knowing

where the track was or how to control the mercurial dragon

that now glowed and seethed with a renewed internal fury.

>

iii)

My immeasurableness drenched black with venom,

I saw monsters everywhere that threatened to wound me.

My teeth, chilled stars, grew hot. My unlucky eyes, robbed

of their shadow, throbbed, tried in vain to douse themselves.

>

My wits dropped into horror. I ran unchecked through

unknown regions of air. Momentum took me. Striking against

the fixed, hurrying heights, headlong, down.

>

Drawn to the surface, I became a desert; my visions,

scorched swans. Light broke apart. I could not bear the sparks.

Lifeless bodies floated face upwards on the deep ravage of this

long trail. And somewhere, on the periphery, something appeared

to fall.

.

>

Complicated Little Life

 by  Sadaf Fatima

 

It’s a complicated little life,

Like a Greek myth,

You plan something,

And you get something else.

You pay for the sins you never do,

You enjoy the fruits others grow.

For some, life is smooth and effortless,

Others struggle to make a living.

You don’t know why you are who you are,

But you still manage to go on,

Go on with the flow of life,

Because you don’t know what’s hidden in the end,

Would it be a deep sleep as some deem,

Or would it be hell, heaven or just nothingness?

It’s a complicated little life,

Like a Greek myth.

_______

* = One of the poems to be included in our Transformations Exhibition and Poetry Reading in September 2014 at Hanse House, King’s Lynn .

.

To find out more about Carol, Richard and Sadaf see:

Carol Robson:

http://chakracaz.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/Chakracaz

.

Richard Biddle:

http://writings43.blogspot.co.uk/

https://twitter.com/littledeaths68

.

Sadaf Fatima:

http://lifepeopledreamsandme.blogspot.co.uk/

https://twitter.com/search/users?q=iheartart8

One Response to “‘The Seas that Ring the World’ Ring 1/5: Transformations Poems (Book 2)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ‘The Seas that Ring the World’ Ring 1/4 : Transformations Poems (Book 2) | Chakracaz's Place. Poetry Performance, poetry and other writings from a late starter. - April 14, 2013

    […] ‘The Seas that Ring the World’ Ring 1/4 : Transformations Poems (Book 2) […]

Leave a Reply

