Flash Fortnightly #11

3 Apr

Words 2

Welcome to Flash Fortnightly!

Laura Besley

My name is Laura Besley and I’m an EFL (English as a Foreign Language) teacher. Over the years I’ve met thousands of students of all ages from many different countries in the world. This job really suits me as I love meeting people and learning about different languages and cultures. After working in England for a couple of years, I moved to Düsseldorf, Germany, where I taught Business English for two years and now I’m living in Hong Kong. This small pocket of Asia is a perfect blend of East meets West and is rich in colour, noise and inspiration.

That brings me nicely onto writing. I’ve been writing on and off since childhood and did my degree in English Literature and Film Studies. When I was in Germany I started writing a bit more regularly and in Hong Kong I’ve really had the time to dedicate to my writing. In 2011 I joined the Hong Kong Writers Circle and a critique group which allowed me to start looking at my work with a more critical eye. On 4th May 2012 I embarked on a project to write one piece of flash fiction a day. I’ve always seen myself as a novelist, but actually I’ve found that I really love writing short pieces as it gives you plenty of room to experiment with style, voice, characters and settings. And each day I can write something new.

I hope you enjoy this ‘Flash Fortnightly’ entry and I’ll be back on Wednesday 17th April 2013 with some more…

___________________________


Dreams

Samuel kept dreaming that she would leave him. Despite his nocturnal warnings, he was unprepared when he woke up one spring morning to find the space that she had occupied in his life for nearly forty years, empty.

Throughout his entire life Samuel had had strange dreams. Some were thrilling, others upsetting, but before he’d reached adulthood he realised they represented not only his day-time reality, but often his future too. He knew he was going to marry the butcher’s daughter, with the long wavy hair and eyes the colour of moss, before he even knew her name. Five years into their marriage he had struggled to convince her to keep trying after the second miscarriage, but he knew they would have two sons and a daughter, all as beautiful as their mother and as strong as the farm animals they kept.

His heart was beating as fast as a frightened animal the first time he awoke after the dream about her leaving. He quickly rolled over and stroked her pale face. She woke up and his coal-coloured eyes pleaded to hers. ‘Don’t leave me,’ he whispered.
‘Of course I won’t,’ she said, her green eyes now faded.

But the eyes lied.

In the depths of winter that same year, she returned as if she’d never been away. He walked back in from the stables to find her sitting on a kitchen chair, life-like. ‘Darling,’ he found himself saying, ‘I’ve missed you.’
‘And I you,’ she replied.
‘Don’t leave me again.’
‘No, I’ll wait right here for you.’

Laura Besley

I wrote this piece a long time ago, on 29th June 2012 to be precise. Sometimes when I look back over old pieces I’m unsatisfied and know that they will never see the light of day. Other times I can be pleasantly surprised by what I find in my archives. I hope you enjoy this piece.

If you’d like to check out more of my writing, flash fiction and non-fiction, check out my blog: Living Loving and Writing. Or you can follow me on twitter @laurabesley or connect on facebook Laura Besley Writer

7 Responses to “Flash Fortnightly #11”

  1. frenzyofflies April 3, 2013 at 11:40 am #

    Laura, you never, ever, fail to surprise, thrill, scare, or charm 🙂 This is wonderful!

    • laurabesley April 5, 2013 at 9:08 am #

      What a comment – I’m speechless, or typeless to be precise! 😉

  2. Sonia Lal April 5, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

    Wait, did she came back as a ghost? Kind of sad. And creepy, if she did.

  3. Cindy Vaskova April 7, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

    This was wonderfully upsetting!

  4. Dorothy April 7, 2013 at 7:31 pm #

    Laura – the comments I’ve just read really do sum up the feeling that this piece of work left me with … a shiver blown in from the arctic and eyes that sting from the chill.

  5. Chanelle April 9, 2013 at 7:13 am #

    I agree; touching, heart warming and sad xxx

  6. Jane Risdon April 14, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    Enjoyed it very much Laura and will be back to read more soon. Congrats.

Leave a Reply

