Weekend Showcase: Lisa Risbec (Artist)

5 Apr

Spotlight

Every Friday, 1 artist/painter/poet/writer, letting their work speak for itself.

nb. This week we are doing something slightly different in as much as Lisa has chosen more than one piece to represent herself. This is a direct reflection of her present state in transition as an artist

>

Lisa Risbec

>>

I am an artist (it has taken me a while to say that and I still struggle to say it out loud!) and my work flows between textiles, crafted piece, photography, collage, drawing, printmaking and animation. I create surreal worlds, dreamlike images and handmade oddities and objects. Using vivid colours and rough textures I like to explore the unseen and the hidden.

I studied Photography and filmmaking at university 6 years ago, and I have been searching for another way to express my creativity, and keep coming back to making things by hand. I have made films using images and textures and taken photographs of musicians incorporating handmade elements.

>>

the_moss_witch2

Still image from The Moss Witch

>>

Image of musician Gwendolen

>

I’m experimenting with printmaking and art journaling and taking photographs of things that inspire me and I also sing and have begun to experiment with music and writing, mainly stream of consciousness and poems to try to work into songs.

>>

Art Journal page3

>>

I am currently part of Islington Mill Art Academy, which is a ‘a peer-led experiment into alternative modes of art education.’ http://islingtonmillartacademy.blogspot.co.uk/

Using this group as support, and learning from them, I am attempting to school myself in fine art, and develop my artistic practice into something that fits with the kind of artist I am. As part of this I am working on a project at the moment and have begun documenting some wasteland near to my studio, mainly the nature that persists there. I’m still working out how to express my thoughts and findings in a visual way. I’m also designing and making work to sell in my online shop ‘Thinking of Foxes’ I love making something out of nothing and finding inspiration in many places especially new places.

>>

P1010276

Wasteland project

>

Swedish Forest Quilt

Swedish forest quilt

>>

This is on top of running an art workshop and having a part time job! I definitely need to pace myself! I have my fingers in a lot of pies and my aim is to simplify everything down into an artistic practice where I can follow my current interests and express myself in whatever medium feels right at the time, without feeling the pressure of trying to do everything all at once. And I’m still trying to work out how! Any tips much appreciated 

www.lisarisbec.co.uk contains links to the films, blog and etsy shop

>

>

Do get in touch via the Comment box or @ArtiPeep if you would like to be showcased. You’d be welcomed!

Leave a Reply

