Frenzy’s Flash Feature #9

25 Apr

FrenzyofFiles2

Welcome To Frenzy’s Flash Feature!

Your fortnightly Poetry/Photo Combo with Greg Mackie

Poet, dreamer, self-confessed idiot. Addicted to chocolate and crisps, he regrets having cancelled his last two dental appointments. Attempts to write stuff. 

http://frenzyofflies.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/FrenzyOfFlies

We hope you enjoy this  ‘Frenzy’s Flash Feature’ entry. Greg will be be back with another great combination on Thursday 9th May 2013

_____________________________________

>Accidental Wilderness

 
>>>>>

ACCIDENTAL WILDERNESS

(Drowning in the Ozarks)

by Greg Mackie

>>>

First, were destroyed

the homes 

and the factories

and the churches –

then the railways, 

ripped up,

and the trees,

torn down.

>>>

Damned –

the river rose

and broke its banks

and flooded the fields

and drowned the valley –

and my memories, too,

were mixed into the mud.

>>>

How many times

did I stand

on the edge of my mind,

watching my childhood 

shining pristine –

in a man-made Atlantis

of necessary nostalgia?

>>>

How many times 

did I drown 

in that lake of memories – 

so thick, 

so quick,

to drag me down?

>>>

Stubborn, 

as the wild flowers 

and the weeds 

and the long grasses

and the persevering plants –

I have become 

an accidental wilderness,

of unfinished stories 

and shifting sentiments

and dislocated desires.

>>>

And though wild animals 

may wander, carelessly, 

through my long grasses – 

and though they may drink,

greedily, 

from my purest waters –

I too am wild, 

and as the wildest of accidents –

I will prevail.

>

 

>>>

10 Responses to “Frenzy’s Flash Feature #9”

  1. Nisha April 25, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

    Nice one Greg! 🙂

    • frenzyofflies April 25, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

      Thanks Nisha! Always appreciated! 🙂

  2. Laura April 26, 2013 at 1:45 am #

    Such vivid imagery – beautifully written! 🙂

    • frenzyofflies April 26, 2013 at 7:45 am #

      Thanks Laura, that means a lot to me! 🙂

  3. pandamoniumcat April 29, 2013 at 10:38 am #

    I love that stubborness, standing strong against the odds, inspiring words… nice poem. My favourite bit…

    I have become

    an accidental wilderness,

    of unfinished stories

    and shifting sentiments

    and dislocated desires.

    • frenzyofflies April 29, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

      Thanks Dianne 🙂 I spent longer than usual on this one, trying to find the right words, and if these words are true for me, then I guess they might be true for a lot of people. Although I could, of course, just be a complete freak… 😉 I’m glad you liked it, and your comment really made my day! 🙂

  4. Folio and Ink May 7, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    Sometimes you have a driving rhythm that is coupled with your raw emotion, and vivid imagery, which just creates poetry that is so exciting and alive, even if it conveys sadness, it gives that sadness a feeling of exhilaration equalled to and often felt in happiness. This is truly great.

    • frenzyofflies May 7, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

      Thank you! I am pretty sure you can feel me blushing from here 😉 You are very generous, and your comment is very, very, very much appreciated, as always! 🙂

  5. The Course of Our Seasons May 10, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    Really love this Greg – have wondered how it must have felt to see your family’s history flooded – never to be seen again. My nephew wouldn’t swim in Table Rock after he heard tales of cemetaries not moved before the lake was filled – thought it was too creepy! This is a very moody poem – heartfelt. K

    • frenzyofflies May 15, 2013 at 6:26 am #

      Thanks Kathleen, I just saw your lovely commentary 🙂 Yes, it must be a strange thing indeed, seeing your childhood haunts disappear for ever. I read tales of fisherman looking down from their boat and seeing an old church steeple, just out of reach. True or not, I found the idea amazing! You live in a wonderful place 🙂 Thanks again! G

Leave a Reply

