Frenzy’s Flash Feature #10

9 May

FrenzyofFiles2

Welcome To Frenzy’s Flash Feature!

Your fortnightly Poetry/Photo Combo with Greg Mackie

Poet, dreamer, self-confessed idiot. Addicted to chocolate and crisps, he regrets having cancelled his last two dental appointments. Attempts to write stuff. 

http://frenzyofflies.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/FrenzyOfFlies

We hope you enjoy this  ‘Frenzy’s Flash Feature’ entry. Greg will be be back with another great combination on Thursday 23rd May 2013

_____________________________________

Collective_Nouns[1]

 
>>>>>>>>> 

COLLECTIVE NOUNS

by Greg Mackie

>>>

I usually hide

behind a collective noun,

and drift past –

one of a river 

of conveniently 

cynical commuters.

>>>

I flow downstream

onto the warm platform,

half-man, 

half-liquid –

and then I go home,

and watch tv

and drink espressos

and shout at my children

over ten grains of rice

stuck

in the dishwasher.

>>>

I know absolutely nothing

of her world,

except –

she spends her days

sitting on a bench 

that looks colder than my fridge,

and she looks weary,

and this evening,

as I glanced across 

and saw her eyes,

I almost tripped.

>>>

The energy required,

to ignore,

so completely

another human being,

whilst simultaneously clinging,

onto a pretension of goodness,

is more,

than I have in me.

>>>

9 Responses to “Frenzy’s Flash Feature #10”

  1. Nisha May 9, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    Beautiful. Lovely imagery. 🙂

    • frenzyofflies May 9, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

      Thanks Nisha, that really means a lot to me! 🙂

  2. soad88 May 9, 2013 at 3:49 pm #

    wow Humorous yet deep I loved it!

    • frenzyofflies May 9, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

      Thanks Soad! I’m glad you enjoyed it. Thanks so much for your kind words 🙂

  3. Folio and Ink May 14, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

    What a tone of beautiful sadness. Lovely work.

    • frenzyofflies May 14, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

      Thank you so very much! I appreciate it 🙂

  4. Laura May 15, 2013 at 3:56 am #

    I had to leave this one to rest before I could think of something to write. The words still escape me. It’s beautiful, sad, lonely and lovely. And love the picture too. Will look forward to the next one!

    • frenzyofflies May 15, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

      Thanks so much, Laura, for your generous comments. Always appreciated 🙂 And I promise that the NEXT one will be just a little bit less sad… 😉

Leave a Reply

