Flash Fortnightly #14

15 May

Words 2

Welcome to Flash Fortnightly!

Laura BesleyMy name is Laura Besley and I’m an EFL (English as a Foreign Language) teacher. Over the years I’ve met thousands of students of all ages from many different countries in the world. This job really suits me as I love meeting people and learning about different languages and cultures. After working in England for a couple of years, I moved to Düsseldorf, Germany, where I taught Business English for two years and now I’m living in Hong Kong. This small pocket of Asia is a perfect blend of East meets West and is rich in colour, noise and inspiration.

That brings me nicely onto writing. I’ve been writing on and off since childhood and did my degree in English Literature and Film Studies. When I was in Germany I started writing a bit more regularly and in Hong Kong I’ve really had the time to dedicate to my writing. In 2011 I joined the Hong Kong Writers Circle and a critique group which allowed me to start looking at my work with a more critical eye. On 4th May 2012 I embarked on a project to write one piece of flash fiction a day. I’ve always seen myself as a novelist, but actually I’ve found that I really love writing short pieces as it gives you plenty of room to experiment with style, voice, characters and settings. And each day I can write something new.

I hope you enjoy this ‘Flash Fortnightly’ entry and I’ll be back on Wednesday 29th May with some more…

___________________________

Desire for Belonging

>>>

They’ll never love me as much as her. She’s far prettier to start with, cleverer too, and a faster swimmer with three gold medals in the under-12s competitions.

When I was fourteen they sat me down on the red sofa, the squidgy one that’s hard to get out of, and Mum held my right hand and Dad my left.
‘There’s something we need to tell you,’ Dad said.

Is Stacey okay?’ That was my first thought. That something had happened to my little sister.

Yes, she’s fine,’ Mum said, and squeezed my hand. ‘She’s playing at Penny’s.’ I don’t like Penny and have never understood why Stacey does.

Sweetheart,’ Dad said, ‘you know we love you and always will.’ Oh God, I thought, have I broken something?

Mum just sat there with tears trying to escape from her small red eyes.

Yes?’ Was that the right answer?

You’re adopted,’ Dad said quickly, then let out a sigh and looked at Mum. Then they both looked at me.

It was as if the world stopped spinning. I suddenly noticed the hideous flowery wallpaper and how old Mum and Dad (if I could still call them that) looked.

Oh,’ I said.

You must have lot of questions,’ Mum said finally.

And Stacey?’

No, Stacey’s not adopted. She’s ours.’

Laura Besley

>>>>

If you’d like to check out more of my writing, flash fiction and non-fiction, check out my  blog: Living Loving and Writing. Or you can follow me on twitter @laurabesley or connect on facebook Laura Besley Writer

 

>>>>

4 Responses to “Flash Fortnightly #14”

  1. frenzyofflies May 15, 2013 at 11:22 am #

    This really moved me, Laura! Such horrible parents! It’s one of those great pieces where the characters keep living in your mind long after you’ve finished reading. Can we please get a sequel? 🙂

    • laurabesley May 18, 2013 at 11:30 am #

      In my head they weren’t truly horrible, the words just slipped out before they realised what they’d said. But that doesn’t stop them being awful and soul-destroying. I’ll think about a sequel! 😉

      • frenzyofflies May 19, 2013 at 9:32 am #

        I didn’t see them as truly horrible either, but the fact that the story touched me so much, is a tribute to your ability to express so much with so little 🙂 And I’ll look forward to the sequel!

  2. Chanelle May 20, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

    Oh god, poor little thing. The power of words and the damage they can do when they’re rushed – though some argue that there is no such thing as an accidental uttering… Powerful stuff x

Leave a Reply

