‘Interactions and Intersections’: An Artistic Experiment In Collaboration #2

15 May

Interactions and Intersections

Welcome to ‘Interactions and Intersections’, an artistic exploration of collaboration by 3 artists over 1 month.

Featuring artists: Kelly Occhiuzzo, Sara Mena and Amanda Santos

“Working in collaboration leads to a rich dialogue yielding unexpected results.” ~Alexander Gorlizki

A couple of months a go I asked Kelly if she would like to take up our Visitor Peep/artist in residence initiative for a month, and we started to discuss the nature of collaboration and connection. As we talked Kelly came up with the idea of online, Twitter-based artists co-creating pieces of art. Passing work, one-to-the-other, and creating something truly collaborative. I then found the artists and what will follow over the next 4 weeks and be posted out on a weekly basis will be the gradual unfolding of 4 new, truly collaborative pieces of art. The project is intended to be experimental, fun, and with an emphasis on the connectivity and the process more than the completed compositions themselves.  

Each week we’ll let you see how the pieces are progressing, and we’ll spotlight one of the artists involved each week.

This week our spotlight falls on  Sara Mena

PLEASE NOTE: Unfortunately, due to health reasons artist David Lee has had to pull out of this project. We wish him well and I’m sure he will be collaborating with us in some other creative venture in the future.

______________________

But before we turn to Sara here are the results of our first week. Each artist starting their own individual piece ready for the first pass which occurred last Saturday (11th). 

 Here below is Amanda’s First Offering which is being added to by Kelly this week:

>>>>

Amanda Week 1 Before Week 1 Pass

And here below is Kelly’s Piece which is being added to by Sara this week:

>>>>>

Kelly Week 1 Before Week 1 Pass

And here below is the piece by Sara which is being added to by Amanda this week:

>>>>

Sara Week 1 Before Week 1 Pass

 

^Please click on the image to enlarge

>>>

This coming Saturday each artist will pass their work on:

Kelly to Sara

Sara to Amanda

Amanda to Kelly

The second week results as well as a feature on Amanda will be posted out on Wednesday 22nd May 

_____________________

Now here’s a little bit more about Sara:

HI I’m Sara Mena, i’m a freelance illustrator and 2D artist and very positive with life and with the things I love. I was born in 1985 and although I have a BA in Graphic Design I was always drawn to the visual arts and illustration and decided to go that way.

I like to work in paper and digital, usually mixing those two. I’m passionate with expression and emotion in paintings and drawings and I like merging media to find new ways of expression and to convey responses.

At present time, I’m doing figurative work, science art and also art for videogames. Sometimes I work in some art exhibitions.

I’m glad to be able to work with such different areas, they make me use different techniques and make me think in particular ways, that helps me grow and expand my art.

I also love challenges, that’s why I got really happy when I was invited for ‘Interactions and Intersections’: An Artistic Experiment In Collaboration by Artipeep/Nicky! I feel this a great and new challenge for me and the chance to work with other artists is awesome! “

Here’s a slide show of some of Sara’s artwork:

>>>

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

