‘Warmth and Wickedness’ Act 4/5 : Transformations Poems (Book 3)

28 May

TRANSFORMATIONS

George Braque Metamorphoses

February 2013-March 2014

17 poets, 15 months, creating 1 contemporary reworking of Ovid’s Metamorphoses

See the Transformations Page for more details or the ‘Present Collaborations’ Tab

__________________

Poems Inspired by Book 3

>>

Featuring:

Greg Mackie, Nell Perry, Sadaf Fatima 

>>>>>

THE MANIC MISOGYNIST

by Greg Mackie

I’d never been
(particularly)
lucky with women,
so I often went hunting
with the guys,
just to get out of the house –
and I know it’s a cruel sport;
decadent
and cowardly,
but I didn’t have the courage,
to spend the day arguing.

Of course, I’d never been
(particularly)
good at hunting,
either,
but we’d done well for a Monday,
and now our bags were full
and the dogs were hungry
and we were tired
and we were looking
for a nice spot
to eat our sandwiches
and drink our tea
and maybe grab forty winks –
when we came across
a clearing,
in the woods,
with a waterfall
and a crystal blue Italian stream.

>

It was indeed,
 a place of wild wonder
 and of stunningly savage beauty,
 the perfect place for a picnic –
 and I could not POSSIBLY have known
 there would be,
 just there,
 in front of my very eyes,
 an all-female nudist colony –
 and I certainly did not,
 gawk at them,
although they were quite pretty,
 albeit in a rather boring
 and overly classical manner.

After five, ten minutes,
(I kind of lost count of time),
and just as I was about to
avert my eyes
from their perfect, pink skin
and their full, fine forms –
that tall lady in the middle,
the one with the hair knot,
finally saw me –
and totally got the wrong idea.
>
Now, I’d NEVER been
(particularly)
lucky with women –
but getting first drenched,
and then turned into a stag,
and finally eaten,
by my own dogs,
because some toff,
with her airs and graces and hair knots,
mistook me,
for a peeping Tom –
that really
took the biscuit.
>
And you know what’s really ironic?
she wasn’t even my type!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

laelaps
* * *

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

blood and wood in
buckthorn clew
a rill, a frith to catch
licks clear a nape
dew claws
jewel brittle
the water leap

Nell Perry 

>>>>>>>>>>

Self Love

by Sadaf Fatima

Madly in love with ourselves,
That’s what we are,
Chained by our own desires,
Lost in our own fears,
Chasing our dreams,
But not paying heed,
to anyone else.
What an illusion it is,
To think it’s just us
who mean everything,
self love destroys
if it’s too much
let’s learn from Narcissus,
it’s not just about us,
it’s more than that.

 

2 Responses to “‘Warmth and Wickedness’ Act 4/5 : Transformations Poems (Book 3)”

  1. Nisha May 28, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    Ha ha, oh Greg, your telling of Actaeon’s version of events, just killed me! Too funny, well done! 🙂

    • frenzyofflies May 29, 2013 at 7:51 am #

      Ha! Thanks Nisha! This was one of my silly ones… 😉 I’m glad you liked it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

