‘Interactions and Intersections’: An Artistic Experiment In Collaboration #5 (the conclusion)

3 Jun

Interactions and Intersections

Welcome to ‘Interactions and Intersections’, an artistic exploration of collaboration by 3 artists over 1 month.

Featuring artists: Kelly Occhiuzzo, Sara Mena and Amanda Santos

“Working in collaboration leads to a rich dialogue yielding unexpected results.” ~Alexander Gorlizki

A couple of months a go I asked Kelly if she would like to take up our Visitor Peep/artist in residence initiative for a month, and we started to discuss the nature of collaboration and connection. As we talked Kelly came up with the idea of online, Twitter-based artists co-creating pieces of art. Passing work, one-to-the-other, and creating something truly collaborative. I then found the artists and what will follow over the next 4 weeks and be posted out on a weekly basis will be the gradual unfolding of 4 new, truly collaborative pieces of art. The project is intended to be experimental, fun, and with an emphasis on the connectivity and the process more than the completed compositions themselves.  

After 5 weeks of passing the ‘Interactions and Intersections’ Project finally draws to a close this week. Each original artwork from each artist having been passed between the artists 4 times.  You’ll find Kelly’s, Sara’s and Amanda’s final pieces below.

>>>>>>

Without further ado, here is Kelly’s final offering which has been passed between the 3 artists for 4 weeks:

>>>>>

Kelly's Week 5 Final Pass 

I thought it might be pertinent to repeat what Kelly felt about about her experience of Interactions and Intersections

‘Exciting week this was. The work passed was so wonderful,  I had a hard time wondering how to yet again morph it into something new.  But what was the most exciting for me was knowing the experiences the other artists were having,  especially Amanda. When I found out she was still in High School I thought her to be very brave to take this kind of project on. I am excited for her that this is the beginning of her artistic journey and she is not afraid to be challenged. I look forward to following both Amanda and Sara’s work into the future. We will forever be connected by Interactions & Intersections, and of course by Nicky, who so patiently put this all together. Thank you Nicky for providing this kind of forum for creatives to connect and share’. 

In case you’ve forgotten what this piece looked pre-collaboration here’s a reminder:

>>>>>>

Kelly Week 1 Before Week 1 Pass

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

And here’s Sara’s Final Contribution which has been passed between the 3 artists for 4 weeks:

Sara's artipeeps_pass4

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I thought it might be pertinent to repeat what Sara felt about about her experience of Interactions and Intersections:

‘Interactions and Intersections’ was and still is a fantastic artistic experience. Usually we do a picture ourselves, we think about our experience and our way to see the world. While that is welcome and pleasant., doing something with others helps us expand our view and how we see art. I loved this from the start and every week I had a lot of fun doing every image. I appreciate a lot how I was doing my pictures thinking about the other artists, giving them space to work on it and also trying to keep their expression in the pictures. I also like that I was able to use a lot of media in my pictures. I feel like I grew a lot with this. No wonder Surrealists did something similar to this. I suggest everyone do something like this whenever they get the chance. I also want to thank, Nicky, Amanda, Kelly and David for this amazing experience! Hope I can work with you guys in the future. ‘

In case you’ve forgotten what Sara’s piece looked like pre-collaboration here’s a reminder:

Sara Week 1 Before Week 1 Pass

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

And here is Amanda’s Final Contribution which has been passed between the 3 artists for the past 4 weeks:

>>>

Amanda's Last Piece Big

>>>

I thought it might be pertinent to repeat what Amanda felt about about her experience of Interactions and Intersections:

‘I personally loved the experience of this collaboration. I loved interacting with artists from around the world through art. With each pass I got to see who the other artists were, their styles, and how those styles contrasted against each other but still worked together at the same time. It was fun to see each piece progress throughout the weeks. Everyone did a fantastic job, because all of the pieces are amazing works of art! This whole process was amazing but difficult, because I am a high school student. May is a busy time for any student, and keeping up with deadlines proved to be a challenge. However, I was still able to contribute which is really rewarding. If I had an opportunity like this again, I would not hesitate to sign up! Thank you to everyone that participated, especially Nicky who kept us all going.’

In case you have forgotten what Amanda’s original pre-collaboration picture looked like here it is:

Amanda Week 1 Before Week 1 Pass

 Overall, this whole project has been an extremely interesting one to watch unfold. As you can see from what has been produced above the quality and artistry of the original start-off pieces has been retained, and enhanced with integrity and care.  I think this project has truly embodied the quote from Alexander Gorlizki that Kelly offered up in such an apposite way in her original post for Interactions and Intersections:

“Working in collaboration leads to a rich dialogue yielding unexpected results.” 

And if you can’t remember all the other phases of creation you can find them here, here and here

 

 

_____________________

 

Leave a Reply

