Frenzy’s Flash Feature #13

20 Jun

FrenzyofFiles2

Welcome To Frenzy’s Flash Feature!

Your fortnightly Poetry/Photo Combo with Greg Mackie

Poet, dreamer, self-confessed idiot. Addicted to chocolate and crisps, he regrets having cancelled his last two dental appointments. Attempts to write stuff. 

http://frenzyofflies.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/FrenzyOfFlies

We hope you enjoy this  ‘Frenzy’s Flash Feature’ entry. Greg will be be back with another great combination on Thursday 4th July 2013

_____________________________________

 
>>>>>>>>>  

meadowsUnlush[1]

 
>>>>>>

MEADOWS UNLUSH

by Greg Mackie

>>>> 
As part of my
Scottish hard-man act,
I don’t carry umbrellas –
and so when it rains,
and the wise take shelter,
to smoke cigarettes
and shake their hair –
I walk
under the drops,
oblivious,
as they drip down my back,
between shirt and skin.
 >>>>>>
Thus, for a few
moist moments,
this town is mine alone –
a kingdom of meadows,
unlush,
amid shining tarmac,
and raindrops,
exploding into flowers –
colour of traffic lights,
and perfume
of sour dust
and seven days sun.
 >>>>>>
Even the rivers of leaves
that swirl
into gaping gutters,
and into my shoes and socks,
and the strands of hair
stuck to my forehead
like a crushed crown –
cannot dampen
this irrestible illusion,
of a seductive sun
that shines
inside my mind.
 >>>>>
And as the wise,
warm and dry
under shop porches
and urine-laced doorways,
peer out
at the passing madman
that is me –
I wonder,
vaguely,
an involuntary,
and fleeting thought –
how much do umbrellas cost?
>>>>>>
8 Responses to “Frenzy’s Flash Feature #13”

  1. pandamoniumcat June 21, 2013 at 1:40 am #

    Beautiful journey, there is a sense of ownership of a place when you walk out into all its glory, says a once Melbourne girl who use to make a point of walking in the rain…and from time to time still does (though in a warmer climate now) 🙂 I can so feel this, great writing as always and to hell with the umbrella…who needs one!

    • frenzyofflies June 21, 2013 at 8:33 am #

      Thanks Dianne, I’m REALLY glad that I’m not the only one who enjoys walking in the rain! 🙂 It can be great fun can’t it? 😉

  2. Nisha June 21, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

    Ha! Love your sense of humour, Greg. An umbrella is a must for me. Can’t stand the thought of my long hair getting wet 🙂
    And that’s a beautiful picture, too, where was it taken, may I ask?

    • frenzyofflies June 21, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

      Ah, maybe I just don’t have enough hair anymore… 😉 Thanks Nisha! 🙂 The photo was taken in Brittany, last summer at about the same period. I love fields with wild flowers and poppies! 🙂

  3. jyoti (@jmbhatt) June 22, 2013 at 7:25 am #

    Ah, the moments captured between raindrops!!! Delicious indeed. Love the concept: Value of rain vs. cost of umbrella…… wonderful work with vivid imagery that float before eyes!!!

    • frenzyofflies June 25, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

      Thank you Jyoti! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  4. laurabesley June 23, 2013 at 9:29 am #

    Beautiful photograph and excellent poem. I love the unique use of language that in turn evokes wonderful imagery.

    • frenzyofflies June 25, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

      Thanks Laura! 🙂 Very much appreciated!!

Leave a Reply

