‘Cry Mercy and Gentleness’ Cry 5/5: Transformations Poems (Book 4)

10 Jul

TRANSFORMATIONS

George Braque Metamorphoses

February 2013-March 2014

17 poets, 15 months, creating 1 contemporary reworking of Ovid’s Metamorphoses

See the Transformations Page for more details or the ‘Present Collaborations’ Tab

__________________

Poems Inspired by Book 4

>>

Featuring:

Karin Heyer and Greg Mackie

___

An Ancient Feminist

by Karin Heyer

(Inspired by the tale of Salmacis and Hermaphhroditus)

>>>>

Outrageous, Shameless,

She outstripped the moon

the moralist cried,

‘Even in modern days’!

Moralists prefer the wavering count:

‘he loves me, he loves me not,

he loves me, he loves me not…’

She must wait,

Pained and demure,

For his first move.

>>>

>>>>

Dare I, dare I not?

I dare, Salmacis cried:

I desire this beautiful youth,

Equality does not forbid daring.

In love they were one

and thus completed their destiny.

>>>>

>>>>

Jealousy

by Greg Mackie

(an acrostic)

>>>>>>

Powerful,

all-seeing Sun;

I offered –

now,

forever,

infinite love  –

love, eternal.

>>>>

Deception!

My embrace,

wholly ignored.

>>>>

Torturer,

he laughed  –

I,

grew hateful  –

trivial,

unseen,

neglected;

thus is love.

>>>

I cannot,

order undone

love’s discovery –

Sun;

erotic enemy,

never once mine  –

overlooking,

rejecting  –

eternally.

>>>>


 

You can find out more about Greg and his work here:

Greg Mackie

http://frenzyofflies.wordpress.com/

or follow on Twitter here:

https://twitter.com/FrenzyOfFlies

>>>

Karin Heyer, as yet, does not have a website.

>>>

Leave a Reply

