Flash Fortnightly #19

24 Jul

Words 2

Welcome to Flash Fortnightly!


Laura BesleyMy name is Laura Besley and I’m an EFL (English as a Foreign Language) teacher. Over the years I’ve met thousands of students of all ages from many different countries in the world. This job really suits me as I love meeting people and learning about different languages and cultures. After working in England for a couple of years, I moved to Düsseldorf, Germany, where I taught Business English for two years and now I’m living in Hong Kong. This small pocket of Asia is a perfect blend of East meets West and is rich in colour, noise and inspiration.

That brings me nicely onto writing. I’ve been writing on and off since childhood and did my degree in English Literature and Film Studies. When I was in Germany I started writing a bit more regularly and in Hong Kong I’ve really had the time to dedicate to my writing. In 2011 I joined the Hong Kong Writers Circle and a critique group which allowed me to start looking at my work with a more critical eye. On 4th May 2012 I embarked on a project to write one piece of flash fiction a day. I’ve always seen myself as a novelist, but actually I’ve found that I really love writing short pieces as it gives you plenty of room to experiment with style, voice, characters and settings. And each day I can write something new.

I hope you enjoy this ‘Flash Fortnightly’ entry and I’ll be back on Wednesday 7th August 2013 with some more…

___________________________

Love and Marriage
>>>>>
“But you always said you wanted to get married.”  
>>>>
“I know,” Xander whispered as he looked down at the remnants of Tony’s spectacular Duck L’orange. 
>>>
“So?” Tony fixed his eyes onto Xander’s downturned face. 
>>>>
“So, I’m just not sure.” 
>>>>
“Well that’s great, isn’t it?” Tony shoved his chair back and picked up the two dirty plates. “So now it’s legal you don’t want to?” he yelled from the adjacent kitchen.  
>>>>
There was music playing upstairs and the rhythms of reggae could be heard softly dripping through the ceiling. 
>>>
“I don’t know,” Xander said. “I haven’t said no.” He picked up the empty serving dish displaying the carcass of the duck and a few stray green beans and followed Tony into the kitchen. 
>>>>
“But you haven’t said yes either. Jesus, Xander, do you know how long we’ve waited for this to be possible?” 
>>>>
“Yes.” 
>>>>
“And do you remember all the conversations we’ve had about it?” Tony was shoving the plates with force into the slots in the dishwasher. 
>>>>
“Yes.” 
>>>>
“So what’s the bloody problem?”
>>>>
“I don’t know.” 
>>>>
Tony slammed the door of the dishwasher and strutted back into the living room. He flicked the overhead light on and stalked around the room blowing out all the candles. 
>>>>>
“Tony,” Xander said softly, reaching out and laying his hand lightly on his shoulder. 
>>>>
Tony shrugged him off. 
>>>>
Xander clapped his hands together. “Let’s do it!” he said. 
>>>
“I don’t want to now.” 
>>>
“Don’t be an idiot, Tony, you obviously do.” 
>>>>
“Correction: did.” 
>>>>
“You just took me surprise, that’s all.” 
>>>>
“That was the idea, but it was meant to be a good surprise.” The silence hung in the air like the smell of rotting fish. “You know what, Xander, I’m just going to find someone who does love me enough to marry me.” 
>>>
“You’ll never find someone better than me. Someone who makes ‘us’ better than ‘us’.” 
>>>>
“Maybe not, but at least there’ll be an ‘us’.  A married ‘us’.” 
>>>>
“You’d throw it all away for the sake of a ring?”
>>>>
“No, Xander, I’m giving it away because of a lie.”

 >>>>

Laura Besley

If you’d like to check out more of my writing, flash fiction and non-fiction, check out my  blog: Living Loving and Writing. Or you can follow me on twitter @laurabesley or connect on facebook Laura Besley Writer

>>>>>

>>>>>>

One Response to “Flash Fortnightly #19”

  1. frenzyofflies August 1, 2013 at 8:12 am #

    Yikes… words are easy, but actions are the true test… Another great story Laura! 🙂

Leave a Reply

