Flash Fortnightly #20

7 Aug

Words 2

 Welcome to Flash Fortnightly!

Laura BesleyMy name is Laura Besley and I’m an EFL (English as a Foreign Language) teacher. Over the years I’ve met thousands of students of all ages from many different countries in the world. This job really suits me as I love meeting people and learning about different languages and cultures. After working in England for a couple of years, I moved to Düsseldorf, Germany, where I taught Business English for two years and now I’m living in Hong Kong. This small pocket of Asia is a perfect blend of East meets West and is rich in colour, noise and inspiration.

That brings me nicely onto writing. I’ve been writing on and off since childhood and did my degree in English Literature and Film Studies. When I was in Germany I started writing a bit more regularly and in Hong Kong I’ve really had the time to dedicate to my writing. In 2011 I joined the Hong Kong Writers Circle and a critique group which allowed me to start looking at my work with a more critical eye. On 4th May 2012 I embarked on a project to write one piece of flash fiction a day. I’ve always seen myself as a novelist, but actually I’ve found that I really love writing short pieces as it gives you plenty of room to experiment with style, voice, characters and settings. And each day I can write something new.

I hope you enjoy this ‘Flash Fortnightly’ entry and I’ll be back on Wednesday 21st August 2013 for the last Flash Fortnightly…

___________________________

A Casual Drink

“Give me another, will you Jim?”

“Sure thing.”

Matt threw back his shot of whiskey and reached for the freshly pulled pint before the liquid had had a chance to warm his throat, let alone his stomach.

“You okay there buddy?” A hand clamped down on his shoulder and then a face appeared. A face he recognised, but couldn’t place. He sat down next to him and ordered a dark ale. “You look like you’ve settled in for the night.”

“That’s about right.” Could he be a regular? No.

“Don’t usually see you here on a Wednesday. You know tonight’s-”

That was it. Wednesday was fucking-

“-quiz night? Are you joining in?”

“Don’t think so mate.” This was the god-awful compere, Dick. Dick fucking Tracey. No-one actually knew if it was his real name or not.

“That’s a shame.” He picked up his pint and shuffled off the high bar stool. “We’re starting in ten minutes.” And he walked off to a table near the back.

“I’d best get off as well,” Matt said to Jim. “Can I settle up?”

“Course.”

“How do you put up with that crap every week?” he said, handing over several notes.

“With difficulty.” Jim laughed. “But I do learn a thing or two at the same time.”

Matt sighed. “Lucky you.”

“Hey, you sure you’re ok?” Jim leant on the bar.

“Rosie’s pregnant again and it’s rubbish timing. She was gonna go back to work full-time now that Stacey’s at school and we were gonna save up to buy a bigger place. Now we won’t be able to. More bods and even less space.”

Jim stopped polishing the glass he was holding in his hand. “Man, I don’t know what to say.”

“I know. It’s lousy. I’m happy, really I am. It’s just crap timing.”

“Sure thing.”

Matt stuffed his wallet in his back pocket. “Night, Jim.”

“Night. Say hi to Rosie for me.”

“Will do.”

Laura Besley

If you’d like to check out more of my writing, flash fiction and non-fiction, check out my  blog: Living Loving and Writing. Or you can follow me on twitter @laurabesley or connect on facebook Laura Besley Writer

.

Leave a Reply

