Flash Fortnightly #21

21 Aug

Words 2

Laura BesleyMy name is Laura Besley and I’m an EFL (English as a Foreign Language) teacher. Over the years I’ve met thousands of students of all ages from many different countries in the world. This job really suits me as I love meeting people and learning about different languages and cultures. After working in England for a couple of years, I moved to Düsseldorf, Germany, where I taught Business English for two years and now I’m living in Hong Kong. This small pocket of Asia is a perfect blend of East meets West and is rich in colour, noise and inspiration.

That brings me nicely onto writing. I’ve been writing on and off since childhood and did my degree in English Literature and Film Studies. When I was in Germany I started writing a bit more regularly and in Hong Kong I’ve really had the time to dedicate to my writing. In 2011 I joined the Hong Kong Writers Circle and a critique group which allowed me to start looking at my work with a more critical eye. On 4th May 2012 I embarked on a project to write one piece of flash fiction a day. I’ve always seen myself as a novelist, but actually I’ve found that I really love writing short pieces as it gives you plenty of room to experiment with style, voice, characters and settings. And each day I can write something new.

I hope you enjoy this last ‘Flash Fortnightly’ entry. I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone at Artipeeps for their support and I wish them all the best for the future. Also, many thanks to all of you who have read, liked and commented on my pieces; it means a great deal.

A HUGE  ‘thank you’ Laura, for all your great flashes over the past months. I have appreciated your writing, your care and your conscientiousness enormously, and I look forward to working with you in other collaborative ways in the future. 

Like Laura, I’d also like to thank all the readers of ‘Flash Fortnightly’ and I hope you all will continue to follow what we’re up to on ArtiPeeps as we move forward and develop.

___________________________

Sugar Rush

Maisie looked at the floor. “Good evening everyone.”

“Try to look up, dear,” a voice said from the back. “Let’s see your face.”

Maisie’s large brown eyes moved slowly from the black and white floor tiles, to the rows of shoes. They were black and brown, made of leather or suede. Not flat turquoise plastic pumps like hers. She looked at trousers, skirts, tights in different shades of black, grey and blue. Not like her pink and purple striped tights under a light denim skirt. Torsos were clothed in shirts, jumpers and jackets, all plain. Not like her off the shoulder white t-shirt with a print of Marilyn Monroe on it. She searched the faces for something that looked familiar, something that she could relate to. Something, anything. One man had thick tortoiseshell glasses on and looked like an architect. One of the women had such pinched lips she looked as if she was sucking on a lemon. But she was wearing a fabulous shade of plum lipstick.

A smile danced on Maisie’s lips and she focused on the rich lipstick. “Good evening everyone. My name’s Maisie and I’m an addict.”

Laura Besley

If you’d like to check out more of my writing, flash fiction and non-fiction, check out my  blog: Living Loving and Writing. Or you can follow me on twitter @laurabesley or connect on facebook Laura Besley Writer

2 Responses to “Flash Fortnightly #21”

  1. Greg J Allman August 21, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    I too love writing short pieces as opposed to much longer works of fiction. I really enjoyed your story. I was certain Maisie was giving a presentation at school. I love the way her confidence builds, using a technique many use for public speaking.

    • laurabesley September 2, 2013 at 3:18 am #

      Dear Greg,
      Thanks so much for your comments. Pleased to hear that there was a good twist at the end! 😉

Leave a Reply

