Weekend Showcase: Sohbet (Poet)

18 Oct

Spotlight

Every Friday, 1 artist/poet/writer, letting their work speak for itself.

.

Featuring

Sohbet

.

she stands by me winding

yarn on a shuttle, telling me

stories about her childhood.

how she bribed my uncles,

with a promise of

freshly plucked guavas or

her share of dessert,

to do the winding for her.

she is glowing subtly

and i am basking in this light.

i leave a fruit basket

on the doorstep of memories.

so when my name relents

in hers and when her mind

becomes an empty sleeve,

my mind would reach it

like a hand and rethread

this place and time.

these days she forgets

everything, sometimes

i think i am the only

reason she lives.

 .

Poet’s Biography

Sohbet is my twitter handle and a sufi word that roughly translates to, anomalous colloquy between kindred spirits. It also implies deep listening and speaking from the heart. I am a designer by trade and artist by disposition. For over 17 years, I have employed my design skills predominantly in three affiliated fields – information graphics, web design/development and currently, instructional design. I was born in a small state in India called Goa and 14 years ago had an opportunity to move to United States of America and change the trajectory of my life. I have spiritual temperament and for hobby, I belly dance and travel.

 https://twitter.com/soHbet

.

Do get in touch via the Comment box or @ArtiPeep if you would like to be showcased. You’d be welcomed!

 

Leave a Reply

