‘Neon Power’: The Journals of Lili Morgan #12 (Emerging Abstract Neon Artist)

7 Nov

Revolution Green

A good while has passed since Lili left her Visitor Peep/Artist In Residence position but she has now returned once again for a regular monthly journal-spot until the end of 2014. As usual Lili will be taking us along with her on her painterly journey and the development of her work with her ‘neons’.  

Here’s Lili:

Well how the time does fly. I am back once again for another instalment of my journal. I haven’t really been focusing on my painting as much as I would like. Being generally busy,  life takes over, and it takes a very organised person to be able to fit everything in. Unfortunately, I am not very organised and my poor little neons have been in the cupboard more than out lately.
.
I did do a little picture which I put in picture frame that doesn’t hang on the wall. I like the simplicity of it. You can see it below. I am definitely going to be going for a more minimal vibe with my painting and I am also going to be experimenting with other mediums as well as the U.V. paints. 
.
Little Pic by Lili Morgan

Little Pic by Lili Morgan

.
In the new year I am planning to expand on my writing and perhaps find some interesting artists to interview. My little chat with @Alex Chinneck outside his sliding house installation in Cliftonville was so enjoyable, that I would like to do it again. I am thinking of not just doing write ups on established artists, but also on emerging artists as well. As long as they do something that I like, and that I think others will be interested in, then their status won’t be that important to me. I will be on the prowl soon to find some lovely people to hopefully meet and interview.
.
Talking of lovely people, myself and Nat Hall have now finished our collaborations with the theme of music. I would like to thank Nat for her very beautiful poetry. It was an awesome project 🙂 Just in case you missed them the first time round here are the links to all our collaborations:  here, here and here.
.
Hopefully I will be able to meet Nat next September, as we will both be participating in ArtiPeeps’  multi-form poetry/art exhibition in King’s Lynn Norfolk called “Transformations”. All the poetry and paintings will all be inspired by Ovid’s Metamorphoses. I will be doing a painting about book 2 and I am really looking forward to it. All the artists and poets work will be in an exhibition book as well. Whoo hoo! I really can’t wait for that! I am really excited about meeting and connecting with everyone else who will be there! It will be fab!
.
 So on that very excited note, I will bid you goodbye. Hopefully, you’ll be overwhelmed with the volume of new pictures I have painted in my next journal!….Ok, well there may be one or two….maybe!
.
 Take care until next time, 
.
.
 Lili x
 

_____>>>

You can follow Lili and her neons on Twitter here:

.
Why not also …
  •  catch up with our ‘Writer In Residence’ for October -poet  Lydia Allison and her collaborative project on notions of deformity here.
  • catch up with our last ‘Artist In Residence’ Project ‘Interactions and Intersections’ with artist Kelly Occhiuzzo, You can find out more here, here, here, here and here.
>>>>

 

>>>

2 Responses to “‘Neon Power’: The Journals of Lili Morgan #12 (Emerging Abstract Neon Artist)”

  1. nordicblackbird November 7, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    A great pleasure working with you, Lili 🙂
    Words & neons rock! N x

  2. nordicblackbird November 7, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

    Reblogged this on nordicblackbird and commented:
    From friend and visual artist Lili Morgan 🙂

Leave a Reply

