‘Greed and Sorrow’ Swipe 3/5: Transformations Poems (Book 11)

22 Jan

TRANSFORMATIONS

George Braque Metamorphoses

February 2013-March 2014

17 poets, 15 months, creating 1 contemporary reworking of Ovid’s Metamorphoses

See the Transformations Page for more details or the ‘Present Collaborations’ Tab

__________________

Poems Inspired by Book 11

.Featuring:

 Richard Biddle and Rebecca Audra Smith

_

In this swipe, here is something a bit different:

Transformations Book XI

by Richard Biddle

.

Please click on the link below

Transformations Book XI 

To explain:

  • I photocopied book 11
  • Drew randomized patterns on each photocopied page
  • Hand-coloured each page with pencil crayon, leaving one part of the page uncoloured (this became the text)
  • Scanned it
  • Copied it into power point
  • *Recorded the text

*Unfortunately, for technical reason the sound is not available

Chione hawk daughter

by Rebecca Audra Smith

.

Chione hawk daughter

They’ll be queuing up around the block
it was predicted by my mother
reading my fortune to me;

as I grew …………………………from youth to youth
………………………….I sprung the way
……………………………………….blossom trees bloom
……………………………………………………..into white petals
………………………….and quickly too
……………………………………….was I bent beneath
………………………….the weight of men
…………………………………………………….they filled me
……………………………………….with children
………….they consoled me
……………………….with compliments
……………………….gave me them
……………………………………………………the way
………….you give a rattle
……………………………………..to a snake
……………………………………………………I shook my beauty.

I declaimed myself
more gorgeous than Diana
sexier than Venus
a better lover than Juno
defiant I strutted
now

I am in flames on my pyre
watching my father
scorch his flesh to join me.

May he be turned to a hawk
and hack at the world’s pity.

How to kill Orpheus

by Rebecca Audra Smith

.

Drown his song with stones,
with your own shout.
Grab what comes to hand-
rakes, sod from the earth, hoes.
Taste sweetness in the first blood,
rub it into your hands,
gulp at the oxen’s veins;
bring your pain to the hunt.

Let the stones weep,
Let the oak’s bark creep over your flesh.
Let there be clamour and crimson rock
Let the birds flock to our branching hands.

.

You can find more about Richard and Rebecca here:

Richard Biddle

http://writings43.blogspot.co.uk/

https://twitter.com/littledeaths68

Rebecca Audra Smith

http://beccaaudra.wordpress.com/

One Response to “‘Greed and Sorrow’ Swipe 3/5: Transformations Poems (Book 11)”

  1. beccaaudra January 22, 2014 at 9:55 pm #

    Reblogged this on beccaaudra and commented:
    Ovid and feminism…

Leave a Reply

