Nests: ‘Dream Boat’ by Lauren Coulson (Creative Resident) #4

25 Mar

Trees4

Nests

Welcome to the final of 4 post slots from our creative in residence poet Lauren Coulson:

.

In this series of works I have decided to explore the idea of the homes that we create for ourselves. I started with the concept of nests; I have always been fascinated how animals instinctively make their homes and how human shelters develop. From this starting point I decided to examine the various homes that I have made for myself in my lifetime, creating a short series of semi- autobiographical works that explore this theme. 

.

 

Dream Boat

.

Pictures of boats with bare boards
renovate the corners of my brain,
turn them into places filled with planning
about where I’d put the kitchen sink.

.
Crying canals of tears
over photos of floating homes
I know I’ll never take my shoes off in,
I’ll never put the kettle on in,
I’ll never wipe the counters down in,
I’ll never make a home in.

.
I’ve moved into a hundred barges
carved out of photographs and memories
of riverside walks
pictured making cups of tea
and watching the swans fight over
the mornings toast crusts.

.
I’ll rope my dreams to a buoy;
hope they stay afloat
until I can find a boat that will
support the weight of all my hopes
and never sink.

.

.

 

.

Bio: 

In 1992 a wriggling pink baby popped out of its’ mother, who proudly proclaimed “cor blimey, it’s a girl!”. Since then that baby has gone on to study art, and get a first class degree in creative writing (although she is no longer a baby). She now spends her time creating crafts to sell in her online shop and writing about the world around her. She is working on her first novel, a children’s book, but is a poet at heart. On top of this she has branched out into storytelling and running writing workshops in the local community. When she grows up she wants to live on a boat and grow vegetables.

Shop: www.etsy.com/shop/milkymoonshop
Website: www.laurencoulson.co.uk

 

You’ll be able to see more of Lauren’s work in collaboration with artist Cliona Sheehan in our ‘Supporting Mental Health’ Anxiety and Release collaboration (April-May). Big thanks to Lauren and to artist Atalina Homan for their contributions and a great residency. 

Tomorrow, we will be sharing poet Kate Garret’s first FreeSpace within which, through verse, she explores the separate experiences of a family of women through the decades.  Hope to see you there! 

 

One Response to “Nests: ‘Dream Boat’ by Lauren Coulson (Creative Resident) #4”

  1. Gill O March 25, 2014 at 1:03 pm #

    May your dreams stay afloat and your canals of tears disappear. You’ll find that boat!

Leave a Reply

