‘Ends and Beginnings’ Circle 2/4: Transformations Poems (Book 15)

6 May

TRANSFORMATIONS

George Braque Metamorphoses

February 2013-March 2014

17 poets, 15 months, creating 1 contemporary reworking of Ovid’s Metamorphoses

See the Transformations Page for more details or the ‘Present Collaborations’ Tab

__________________

Poems Inspired by Book 15

.Featuring:

Rebecca Audra Smith and Nat Hall

.

 

Vivam

by Rebecca Audra Smith

.

I cut off my hair
cast it into the waters
I turn all I see into stone

applause achelordes aegina aeolia virgo

pages turn
words sink
coral hardens

bind byblis

I cut off my hair
cast it into the waters
pages turn

chalciope chariclo cornix creak

birds are calling
they have men
hidden deep in their chests

deoia dercetis dymantis dour

I cut off my hair
cast it into the waters
the poet shall live

egeria erigone eriays eerie

birds sing
they are of the flesh
of the books of Ovid

hebe hecate hecuba helle hyale hail

I turn all I see into stone
I cut off my hair
cast it into the waters

illithyia ire

Aurora has been weeping
for her children again
sky bitter lemon stained

latois latona laugh

planets turn
I cut off my hair
cast it into the waters

menthe mestra muse

heron claps
it’s wings
over ruins

nyeteis nyctimene nestle

I cut off my hair
cast it into the waters
the poet shall live

ocyrhoe ophias open

they can tell you
the story of every rock
they can tell sorrows
fit to freeze

pasiphae perimele philomela pyrrha poignant

I cut off my hair
cast it into the waters
I turn all I see into stone

rhanis rustle

have you seen the bees
born of bull’s carcass?
have you seen the frogs
born of mud?

scylla semele semiramis smilax speak

pages turn
I cut off my hair
cast it into the waters

telethusa tellus tale

we take
to the skies
to crow stories

venilia vesta veer

I cut off my hair
cast it into the waters
pages turn
the poet shall live

.

 

Pebbles don’t lie

by Nat Hall

.

They may wander from coast to coast,
turn chameleon or
magpie,
deep
inside
ink from
poets’ hands,
blood from
mortals,
turn black to white;

deeper inside
the great galactic placenta,
home of stardust, rocks & comets,
where gods can feed
freely from
dreams,
minds
from
scholars,
heavers of
wisdom, theorems,
and hear their own stories alive,
as they emerge from a
parallel universe.

Now feel
perpetual state of flux –

fire,
water, air
around earth,
polished stones,
shammy-leathered
verse,
prophetic as city builders,
metamorphic in cosmic wombs.

And if you think I’m a liar,
come walk with me
on edge of
tide;
you too
will collect your pebbles
somewhere along
the wheel of
life.

Pythagoras was a
genius.

© Nat Hall 2014

 

You can find more about Rebecca here:

http://beccaaudra.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/BeccaAudra

 

You can find more about Nat here:

http://nordicblackbird.weebly.com/index.html

https://twitter.com/nordicblackbird

 

 

Tomorrow we’ll be sharing Ben Cooper’s last FreeSpace with ArtiPeeps. Thank you, as always, for your interest.

.

BE THERE AT THE START AND HELP US MAKE THE VIRTUAL REAL

14 Poets, 15 artists, 1 contemporary reworking of Ovid’s Metamorphoses

Do take a look.

Transformations Kickstarter Campaign:

http://kck.st/1i2e721

Campaign Video:

http://goo.gl/khucJx

new-badge5
.
2 Responses to “‘Ends and Beginnings’ Circle 2/4: Transformations Poems (Book 15)”

  1. Huffo Orlando August 4, 2015 at 4:48 am #

    great informations tnks so much… ...

    • ArtiPeeps August 9, 2015 at 12:45 am #

      Huffo, My apologies for not having replied to your comment earlier. I’m so pleased you found the information useful. I’ve tried to pull as many sources together as I could; and I’m glad it worked!

      All good wishes, Nicky

Leave a Reply

