ArtiPeeps Update: Onwards and Upwards

28 May

hot-air-balloon

 

Exactly a week has passed since the conclusion of our Kickstarter campaign for Transformations. We had a £4413 project goal and accrued £1392 of it, with 46 backers. A huge thank you to everyone who supported us.  This,  I feel,  is no mean feat and the Transformers and I all worked very hard, full-out, for its duration. Kickstarter campaigns are incredibly labour intensive, I have found!

The conclusion of this Kickstarter could have elicited feelings of despondency, but quite the opposite:  financial support has emerged out of the ashes of the campaign; many backers still  feeling able to support what we’re doing. We can move forward not really having lost anything. I am also about to put in an application to the arts council to fund the remaining monetary shortfall, and the Chair of ArtiPeeps and I will be trying to secure business sponsorship over the next couple of months.  

Overall, I think the campaign has positively foregrounded not only what ArtiPeeps stands for, but also what is behind the opportunities and initiatives we are attempting to provide.  It has also brought all the Transformers together much more overtly and we have communicated and worked well together as a collective. Considering this has often been across continents this is amazing.

I am also pleased that via the article in The Cambridge Evening News I may have helped other people with bi-polar by being open about mine. I’ve received a variety of emails and tweets that would indicate this, which is gratifying.  Some are creatives and will be taking part in future projects. I couldn’t run ArtiPeeps the way I do with a well-being thread without being fully transparent about my health…. 

There is a fast turn around on the Arts Council grant of 6 weeks, so my aim is to have that completed by the end of June. Therefore we will know where we are financially by August which gives us time to secure other funding if necessary by 12th September.

Processed_SAM_loki

Loki, Norse supervillan

 

I am also intending to put in further applications for our Norse Sagas project next year and our ‘Supporting Mental Health’ exhibition. By procuring funds in advance of our projects this will help secure our initiatives and allow us to move forward from a position of strength. That is the the theory anyway!!  From the end of June my time will then be spent on the soft copy exhibition book, ebook and pdf and other sponsorship.  We’ll see how that goes…

Our second season of work ended last Friday, and looking back it  featured a wide variety of creatives and initiatives: from Millfield School’s Year 9 young poets, to our second hot potato collaborative short story (which is now being illustrated) to our first wood sculptor who is hopefully going to be involved in the Norse Sagas project next year. The ‘Supporting Mental Health’ Initiative has also produced some fantastic work on the themes of Loneliness and Anxiety and Release. The Found Poetry Project has also shown me the delights of creating such poems. Fabulous!

Running the Kickstarter on top of the season of work was a lot of pressure, and it has made me think about how I will run the seasons in the future. Whether I will just have rolling programmes of initiatives, instead of packed three month seasons. I’m going to discuss this with the Management Committee and go from there. With a rolling programme, opportunities could be given in a more consistent, less intense way. Any feedback on this thought would be welcomed. It would also leave room for a spontaneous project which would be no bad thing. 

I will be posting out regular updates as we move towards the Transformations exhibition dates, and will post something out in July about the opportunities centred around Norse Sagas.

Thanks so much for your interest, and for having supported us during our Kickstarter campaign. It’s much appreciated, and do get in contact if you’d like to get involved- via the contact form on the What’s On page or via @ArtiPeeps

 

All the very best,

Nicky

 

 

5 Responses to “ArtiPeeps Update: Onwards and Upwards”

  1. nordicblackbird May 28, 2014 at 4:51 pm #

    Fantastic, Nicky! The spirit is on and shining 🙂 Looking forward to reading the following instalments & unfolding of the project.

    I may not say much, but my eyes are wide open 🙂

    Kindest regards fae #60N

    Nat http://www.nordicblackbird.com/

    >

    • ArtiPeeps May 29, 2014 at 2:18 pm #

      Dear Nat,

      Thanks for your validation. I value it! I’m really excited to see where this all will take us; and, like you, I’m looking forward to seeing it unfold. I’m learning so much from it all, which will totally feed into Norse Sagas.

      Warm wishes,
      Nicky

  2. Deborah May 29, 2014 at 9:34 am #

    Great progress Nicky, lots to be encourages by! 🙂

    • ArtiPeeps May 29, 2014 at 2:25 pm #

      Dear Deborah,

      Thank you! It’s funny, half of the things I’m doing at the moment I’ve never done before, and I’m acquiring all sorts of skills I’d never thought I’d acquire and which will allow me to develop ArtiPeeps in different ways. All I think there can be is progress, which feels quite amazing.

      I really appreciate your support Deborah. 🙂

      Warm wishes
      Nicky

  3. Gill O June 8, 2014 at 5:31 pm #

    A great optimistic message for the future Nicky x

Leave a Reply

