Weekend Showcase : Rathi Ramasamy (Poet)

11 Jul

Spotlight

Every Friday, 1 creative, letting their work speak for itself.

______

Rathi Ramasamy

 

Fish

 

 

Seaworthy

 

I watch the fish slice saltwater depths with their fins, liquid
wounds self-healing behind them. These flat bodies,
armored in flat scales, have not been designed for remorse.
They flicker with mirrored light as their flicking tails
chart an unspoken course through the sea.

.
Tracing indifferent orbits, their snakespine motion
echoes, ripples against my skin. I spin their water with churning
strokes in a storm that scares them away.
Though fluid hugs my frame as it does theirs,
guilty limbs have a weak hope of grace.

.
My body is wrong here, where sunlight shines
silver and washes my dark hands sallow. I rise,
like seaweed, to the surface. The ocean shows me its mercy
with waves. As each breath of wind sweeps my face, the tide
sweeps my limp form closer to shore.

 

* A graduate of the creative writing program at Denison University, Rathi lives and writes in Columbus, Ohio.

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Weekend Showcase : Rathi Ramasamy (Poet)”

  1. Gill O July 11, 2014 at 12:50 pm #

    Your poem is beautiful – I can feel the water and see the swimmers.

Leave a Reply

