Rewriting the Universe by Daniella Sciuto & J. Matthew Waters (FreeSpace #2)

22 Sep

Welcome to the second FreeSpace from poets Daniella Sciuto and J Matthew Waters. ‘Rewriting the Universe’ is the second of three collaborative pieces that Daniella and John will be creating together.

 

writing 3

 

.R

Rewriting the Universe

 

I drew these lines ages ago without

understanding the consequences

and my desire to protect them

weakened as time wore on

.

I sketched these images

fast frenetic murals on the wall

portraying all my doubts

concerning this world

and myself

and then I lived on

each day passing by

these lines remained unchanged

concealed by a thin layer of imagination

.

I crossed the line into a new

form of reality

regaining my strength by

becoming one with creation

drawn across the land

yet the pull of these lines

that basis of all

beyond the veil of life

influenced everything

no matter how much I whitewashed

my tabula rasa was not pure

and I found myself

redrawing the lines

found myself starting all over again

.

this is how it both

ends and begins

with poetry written

rewritten and rewritten again

layers upon meanings

upon words

with us forever

redrawing the lines

starting all over again

whilst the ghosts of poems past

influence everything

 

 

If you want to hear an audio of John reading his poem you can do so here

 

Poets’ Biographies

 

Daniella Sciuto: I’m a writer from The Sunshine Coast in Queensland, Australia. Proud owner of an unused degree in Anthropology. Am owned by many, many books which don’t seem to want to leave once they have been read. My first story to be published was on a pillow. I can be found, together with my ramblings, at bluebellina.wordpress.com and @iwasaplatypus on Twitter.

J Matthew Waters is a poet residing in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. After earning his liberal arts degree in English from the University of Iowa in 1984, he has since enjoyed a career in the financial services industry.  His first collection of poetry entitled “Five Hundred Pieces” was self-published in 1997. His second collection entitled “In the Middle of Somewhere” was self-published as a Kindle ebook in 2011. His most recent work can be found at his poetry blog jdubqca.com.You can follow Johnhttps://twitter.com/jdubqca

 

Please do watch out for the third collaborative piece from Daniella and John which should appear over the next few months.

 

FreeSpace is a creative opportunity that offers 3 posts on ArtiPeeps to an individual or group for showcasing or a project. The slots can be taken in a cluster or spread over a period of months.

Leave a Reply

