Vanaheim: ‘ Magic & Wonder’ 4/4′ The Nine Realms- Poems and Writing

22 Jan

World Tree Norse

The Nine Realms

9 months, 22 poets and writers, 22 Artists, 3 composers, 1 Viking boat: a magical reworking of Norse Mythology for contemporary audiences

 

Poems and Writing inspired by the Norse realm of Vanaheim

Featuring:

Ross Beattie, Lydia Allison and Karin Heyer

 

Vanaheim

by Ross Beattie

.

I’m just like her, I need the wolves, the life of the mountain crawling through my veins. 
But he’ll never stay beside her this far from his precious sea.
Why can he only love at the waters edge? 
Can he not see the passion flowing through her in the hills ? She could love him like no other if he can only bring himself to touch her skin beneath the fire red moon among the wildness of the forest. 
She knows she’ll sink below the tide if she stays there beside him, so she must return alone to the trees, far from his precious Vanaheim.  
Back to her land of thunder. 

.

MP3 TO COME

.

Thrymheim

 by Lydia Allison

.

In the mornings the rocks glisten
like the sick, the dying
soaked in the night. I rise early
run my hand along the moisture of giant walls –
swelled drops catching yellow light

I raise it to my mouth
taste the nothing taste
pure water
I expect salt,
the minerals of my world

but remind myself
this is not the way things are
here, the hard forms move slowly
over years. Mostly unreachable
almost untouchable.

.

Thrymheim was the abode of Þjazi, a jötunn, located in Jötunheimr.

.

.

Poem read by Nicky Mortlock

.

Nóatún

.

I don’t like the madness,
the movement makes me sick, my sweat,
nothing, salt in the air, my skin stings.
The taste – tears – dries my mouth to sand. He says it becomes me,
this light. I know. I feel it.

 

Nóatún is the home of the Njord

.

Poem read by Nicky Mortlock

.

.

Freedom of Speech

by Karin Heyer

 .

Just beyond the sound is

talk, talk, talk,

babble, humming,

buzzing like a persistent bee.

.

The gods in Asgard

debate, they argue.

The gods in Vanaheim respond,

they buzz and hum.

.

Let the precious mead of poetry flow,

ponder the sense of cruel fight,

which is nought

in most cases

.

but not all…

continue the winged buzz

shun raging Ragnarök.

only a rainbow

.

can connect

restore

the word

the talk and babble.

 

MP3 TO COME

.

You can read the overview of Vanaheim here , and see some Asgard poems here

.

Find out more about Ross, Lydia and Karin here

Ross Beattie

blackpoemblues.weebly.com

https://twitter.com/blackpoemblues

Lydia Allison

 lydiaallison.wordpress.com

https://twitter.com/LydiaAllison13

Karin Heyer

Contact ArtiPeeps. 

 

As always, thank you for your interest.

.

One Response to “Vanaheim: ‘ Magic & Wonder’ 4/4′ The Nine Realms- Poems and Writing”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Nine Realms – Vanaheim: ‘Magic and Wonder’ | Lydia Allison - February 3, 2015

    […] Vanaheim: ‘ Magic & Wonder’ 4/4′ The Nine Realms- Poems and Writing. […]

Leave a Reply

