9 Realms Viking Showcase: featuring Jasmine Renold (artist)

14 May

nine realms8

19 Poets, 23 artists, 3 musicians and a Viking boat

.

Featuring

Jasmine Renold

(One of 2 Realm artist s for Jotunheim)

Question: what piece of your art best represents you at the moment?

.

IMG_4334

.                                    ‘Come into my parlour’

.

Most of my work is made from objects I find and wire. I love wire for its malleability and resistance. Sometimes it has a mind of its own and wants to go in a different direction. I like double meanings and so many of the titles to my sculptures are a play on words, sort of 3D conundrums. The themes of flight, freedom, constraint and being stuck or trapped are evident throughout my work. Sometimes with the sense of how we restrain ourselves from being free and being able to be true to ourself.

Biography:

I live in Manchester, UK and I have been a teacher for more than twenty years and have always been passionate about communication in its many forms. To teach well one has to be an amazing communicator. I studied Physics and Music for my degree and so my creative and logical sides often do battle with each other. My art work often displays a certain inner battle , particularly the mixed media sculptures.  It also reflects my purpose in life: exploring effective and beautiful communication. Jasminerenold.wordpress.com @jrenold on Twitter.

.

Please do take a look at our Indiegogo Campaign.

http://igg.me/at/the9realms

nine realms8

 

One Response to “9 Realms Viking Showcase: featuring Jasmine Renold (artist)”

  1. Gill Offley May 15, 2015 at 2:31 pm #

    I love your work Jasmine – it looks delicate and strong at the same time and it’s very different.

Leave a Reply

