LILI MORGAN: EMERGING NEON ABSTRACT ARTIST

24 Jan

sunshine_meditation

Today is a great sunshiny day for ArtiPeeps because we’re thrilled to welcome and debut new emerging neon abstract artist

LILI MORGAN 

We’re honored she’s chosen ArtiPeeps as the site on which to debut her work. I happily stumbled upon Lili in one of my scouting sojourns through Twitter. I asked her if she would be interested in our Visitor Peep Initiative and she said YES (always a very good word and answer) and that was the beginning of our collaborative adventure together! 

In case you don’t know Our Visitor Peep Page has been specifically created so it can be ‘borrowed’ for a month by ANY emerging artist or writer from any discipline. A mentor will be provided and support given throughout the month. At the end of the month further development opportunities will be offered to maintain the relationship. Lili will be given  an ongoing blog spot so we can keep up-to-date with her exploits, and a further collaboration. In the not too distant future we are also hoping to establish a relationship with a gallery which can act as a further platform for our artists. At ArtiPeeps our aim is to not let go of a connection once we’ve made it. We aim to nurture and develop all the talent that comes our way, and there’s a lot of it! 

 

So without further ado here’s Lili:

‘Thank you for taking your time out to view the debut of my abstract neon paintings. Even though I believe the focus should be on the art itself. I guess it would be a good idea to introduce myself and to tell you a bit about my journey that has led me to here and now, and also my aims and goals for the future!


All of my life I have loved art and anything creative. In fact, art is actually one of the few things that gives me an instant buzz! There is nothing I like better than visiting an art gallery and gazing at the pictures on display. I particularly like contemporary art in the forms of abstract, urban, and street art, and I am very influenced by the paintings of Jackson Pollock who I think was incredible.


For many a year I had talked about painting, and very briefly a few years ago, I toyed with abstract art with acrylic paints. However, I never had the courage to get out there and do it. I used my circumstances as an excuse. Not enough time, not enough resources etc etc. I realise now that what was really stopping me was my own fear. So my painting went on hold for a very long time until a chance conversation about 6 months ago.


I was sitting with friends and one of them was telling me about a painting they had recently bought. My other friend then randomly announced that I was an artist. I sat there and it was like a light bulb had gone on in my head, a complete moment of clarity, an absolutely defining moment in my life. I was going to become an artist.


I knew that if I was going to paint then it would be abstract, but I wanted it to be a bit different. So when I found the neon colours I knew that they were the paints for me. Their brightness and vibrancy reflected exactly how they made me feel whilst painting with them. I had found my one true love! (Apart from my family of course!). Since that day I can honestly say that I am a much happier person. My art is such a positive part of my life. I enjoy every aspect of it. It inspires me. It gives me focus, as well as aims and goals. I have also found that there are a lot of like minded creatives out there who are all extremely encouraging and supportive of one another via Twitter.

In fact it was on Twitter where I was approached by Nicky here at ArtiPeeps The concept ArtiPeeps is great. The idea is to provide a platform for new and emerging artists to showcase their work. Nicky has even found me a mentor James @jmackenzieart who is also an established artist. He will be critiquing my work, and answering any questions that I have during the 4 weeks that my art will be displayed. For me this is going to be extremely helpful and it is also brilliant to have both of their support.


My ultimate goal for my future in painting, will be to sell my pictures and display them in galleries  everywhere. It will be amazing to have commissions for my work and to be able to do the thing I truly love day in and day out. Once I am established myself then I will also like to mentor someone else to help them begin their journey as an artist. Now that I have told you a bit about myself, I would love to have some feedback from you. What is it that inspires you, and how do you aim to reach your goals? Whatever your particular journey is, I hope that it makes you as happy and excited as mine does for me. Please do let me know. I will also be writing a weekly journal about my progress on here, so please do come back and take a look.


Thanks for finding out a bit about me and I hope to find out about you and your goals too!’

Here is the debut of 4 of my paintings. You’ll find 4 more on my page here:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A few words from James Mackenzie Lili’s Mentor during her month with us:

‘Hello All,

 I have the privilege to be the English Art Correspondent for Artipeeps….one of a few titles to come I believe!

 Thus far I have written some blogs and also produced a festive painting in collaboration with poet Nat Hall for the Artipeeps ‘A Christmas Carol’ blog. It was a new experience for me painting from someone else’s mind!

 My new role at Artipeeps is that of art mentor. A chance for me to provide some guidance and support to new artists and share the knowledge I have picked up on the way.  I’ll be supporting Lily throughout her month with Artipeps, reviewing her work and, I hope, offering her some constructive criticism as well as answering any questions she might have. We are then going to be using this experience to develop a mentoring programme that can be applied to other mentees from all disciplines.

 My day job involves teaching art and photography to secondary school students and helping to develop their artistic potential. So, as you can imagine I am looking forward to trying to do the same for aspiring artists.

 My first suggestion to any new artist is to get their hands on a digital SLR camera to take high quality photographs of their artwork. It doesn’t have to be expensive -I would recommend a second hand Nikon, maybe a D200 10.2 MP from eBay to start with. They can be great value for money and eBay is definitely the answer. Find a respectable seller, one who has sold many items and has positive feedback from buyers and you should expect to pay between £100 and £200.

James on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/james.mackenzie.12327

James on SaatchiOnline: http://www.saatchionline.com/mackenzieart (*5)

So now you know what’s in store for Lili, James and ArtiPeeps in the month ahead. Lily will be posting out her journal regularly as she continues to create, try new techniqies and develop her work. She will be sharing her trials, tribulations and ideas with us all and new pictures will be placed on her page regularly. So do keep an eye on it and follow this blog  via the tab at the top of the sidebar.

Your response is also key to this experience. You’re part of the collaboration so we’d LOVE to have lots of feedback and if you’d like to be our next Visitor Peep do get in touch. You’d be welcome!

Follow us on Twitter:

Lili Morgan: @LiliMorganArt

James Mackenzie: @jmackenzieart

ArtiPeeps: @ArtiPeep

Thanks so much for your interest, and all the very best! Here’s to collaboration!

10 Responses to “LILI MORGAN: EMERGING NEON ABSTRACT ARTIST”

  1. frenzyofflies January 24, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

    The energy in your paintings is dazzling! I particularly like Atomic 10 and Revolution Green; intense explosions of pure colour! Lovely work 🙂

    • ArtiPeep January 29, 2013 at 9:55 am #

      A Reply From Lili Morgan

      frenzyofflies
      Thank you for the lovely encouraging comments, and all of your support. It is really appreciated.

  2. orwell531 January 25, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

    Dear Lili Morgan, I awaited your appearance on ArtiPeeps with great attention and am delighted to experience your creativity, to learn how you became an artist and, also, how being an artist has changed your focus in life. How this has given you a greater depth of understanding as to what it means to be a creative human being. The gifts you have for yourself and others. Your paintings have a luminous vibrancy, I love looking at them, dancing across the canvas. Keep painting. Thank you.

    • ArtiPeep January 29, 2013 at 9:58 am #

      A Reply From Lili Morgan

      orwell531
      Your comments are very touching and thoughtful, and I appreciate your positivity. Thank you so much.

  3. ash January 25, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    Hi Lili. I enjoyed your story and selection of your first artworks. Tthe neon-style colours are a real differentiator. I thought ‘Spinky’ and ‘Atomic 10’ are your stongest styles—probably because they have a limited palette, which I’ve always felt works best in most abstracts. I remember what it’s like when you begin painting in abstract—you just want to try everything, as many techniques and different styles as you can. Keep experimenting, but try to figure out what your best styles are, which pieces are most popular with the people who see your art. Then work to develop and really refine these styles and experiment with different colour groups.

    This is a great start, keep up the nice work. Best regards, @ash_abstracts

    • ArtiPeep January 29, 2013 at 10:02 am #

      A Reply From Lili Morgan:

      Ash
      Thank you for your kind words of advice. I will definitely be taking them onboard with any of my future pictures. I think I know what direction I will be moving in and your comments have really helped.

  4. An opinion January 26, 2013 at 9:40 am #

    I’ll be honest here. Abstract expressionist art is a genre that everyone can do, but only 1 in every 1000 can do in a way that holds attention. I wouldn’t put this work in that 1 in every 1000.

    For me, the key to abstract expressionism is the suggestions of order in chaos. The eye sees random lines, blobs, colours, but there are hints of pattern, rhyme and reason.

    For this work, I feel paint has just been thrown on a canvas. This is just my subjective opinion. Abstract expressionism is a genre that is anchored in an ideology of putting personal feelings above that of the audience so as long as you like what you do, you are being true the genre’s traditions and I suppose that is what matters most. However, if you do care what others think, this is what I think. Others will in turn think differently to me.

    • ArtiPeep January 27, 2013 at 11:22 am #

      From James Mackenzie, Lili Morgan’s Mentor

      ‘A little harsh in my opinion. Abstract Expressionism, in its very nature, is exceptionally subjective and who is to say there should be a hint of pattern or sense of order? As you said the main element of the genre is producing an expression of that artist’s feeling. Lili has put her heart into her paintings and has displayed them on here.

      If you could give constructive criticism that would be very helpful.’

    • frenzyofflies January 27, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

      I’ll be honest here. Art criticism is something that everyone can do, but only 1 in every 1000 can do in a way that actually has any value. I wouldn’t put that last criticism in that 1 in every 1000.

      Art is personal. It IS subjective. And to use such a conveniently limiting theory of genre to back up your subjective analysis, is both unfair and intellectually lazy.

      Lili’s art, her playful energy, her personality, speaks to me personally, and presumably to many others. THAT is the only justification necessary for ANY artist’s work.

    • ArtiPeep January 29, 2013 at 10:01 am #

      A Reply From Lili Morgan:

      an opinion
      You didn’t seem to leave a name for me to be able to reply to you? Thank you for your opinion of my art. I am sure that you won’t be the first or the last person to criticize it. I totally understand your need for symmetry within abstract. I would say that Jackson Pollock is a perfect example of your point. His paintings are incredible! For me personally though, I enjoy having the freedom of some “randomness”. I don’t want to always have sameness. I want my work to sometimes be visibly challenging to the eye. An example of this is my picture called “Revolution Green” The word Revolution is defined as, “Change in power or organizational structures. Complete change from one constitution to another. Modification of an existing constitution”. The green is overpowering and it’s presence is not structured in a typical way, and that is the whole point of the piece. I am sure that my art is going to be something you either get, or you don’t. And even though you don’t, I am very happy that it has provoked you enough to take the time to leave your comments about it for me.

Leave a Reply

