Frenzy’s Flash Feature #16

1 Aug

FrenzyofFiles2

Welcome To Frenzy’s Flash Feature!

Your fortnightly Poetry/Photo Combo with Greg Mackie

Poet, dreamer, self-confessed idiot. Addicted to chocolate and crisps, he regrets having cancelled his last two dental appointments. Attempts to write stuff. 

http://frenzyofflies.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/FrenzyOfFlies

We hope you enjoy this  ‘Frenzy’s Flash Feature’ entry. Greg will be be back with another great combination on Thursday 15th August 2013

_____________________________________

>>>>

Divided

_____

DIVIDED

by Greg Mackie

.

I met myself on the street today,

I was looking rather pale;

My eyes were red,

my hair unwashed,

I didn’t look too well.

>>>>

I tried to find the courage,

To ask me what was wrong;

I’ve known myself

for quite some time now –

We used to get along.

::::

He told me he was suffering,

from choices that I’d made.

I said you’re an adult now,

and you’ve made your bed,

and in your bed, you’ll lay.

>>>>

He screamed at me in anger;

I’d never seen me this way.

His cold blue eyes

were so full of hate,

I had to turn and look away.

>

He said,

If love can move a mountain,

if love solves everything,

Why am I so lonely?

Why did you give in?

.

I couldn’t find an answer;

I couldn’t even speak –

I watched me walk

around the corner,

and I’ve never felt so weak.

.

Will I ever see myself again?

Will I ever be complete?

And how many other divided souls,

Shall I meet,

On this busy street?

.

 

4 Responses to “Frenzy’s Flash Feature #16”

  1. Jan Brown August 3, 2013 at 7:27 am #

    How many other divided souls? Many, I would guess. Me, for one.

    Poignant and profound poetry, And the photo is perfect. Well done, you!

    • frenzyofflies August 7, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

      Thanks Jan, I appreciate it 🙂 I guess we’re all a little bit divided, and I guess that’s just what makes us human 😉

  2. pandamoniumcat August 3, 2013 at 9:09 am #

    I’d say there are many divided people…hmmm me some months back ha ha… I would have given myself a scathing report… I think I’d get a better one now… I hope! It’s all about time and place… Cool poem!!

    • frenzyofflies August 7, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

      Ha! We’re usually our worst own judge 😉 Thanks Dianne, I always appreciate your comments, and I really do mean the both of me! 😉

Leave a Reply

