Flash Fortnightly #16

12 Jun

Words 2

Welcome to Flash Fortnightly!

Laura BesleyMy name is Laura Besley and I’m an EFL (English as a Foreign Language) teacher. Over the years I’ve met thousands of students of all ages from many different countries in the world. This job really suits me as I love meeting people and learning about different languages and cultures. After working in England for a couple of years, I moved to Düsseldorf, Germany, where I taught Business English for two years and now I’m living in Hong Kong. This small pocket of Asia is a perfect blend of East meets West and is rich in colour, noise and inspiration.

That brings me nicely onto writing. I’ve been writing on and off since childhood and did my degree in English Literature and Film Studies. When I was in Germany I started writing a bit more regularly and in Hong Kong I’ve really had the time to dedicate to my writing. In 2011 I joined the Hong Kong Writers Circle and a critique group which allowed me to start looking at my work with a more critical eye. On 4th May 2012 I embarked on a project to write one piece of flash fiction a day. I’ve always seen myself as a novelist, but actually I’ve found that I really love writing short pieces as it gives you plenty of room to experiment with style, voice, characters and settings. And each day I can write something new.
 
I hope you enjoy this ‘Flash Fortnightly’ entry and I’ll be back on Wednesday 26th June 2013 with some more…
 
NB. If any of Laura’s readers find this particular story familiar, it is one Laura has already published on her blog. We’re glad she’s sharing it with us. 

___________________________

Down the Hill
>>>>
Mrs. Knox pushed the heavy wheelchair up the hill for the third time that day, then stopped, turned and released it. She pulled her gloves off both hands, finger by finger, cupped her hands in front of her mouth and blew. Mrs Knox’ hands hadn’t been warm for as long as she could remember.
>>>>
The wheelchair careened down the incline, gaining speed and she turned at the sound of the crash. She put her gloves back on and slowly stomped down to the heap of metal, under which was her husband.
>>>>
She passed the row of town houses she had seen every day for the last forty years, each with a different coloured front door. Marjorie lived at number 21 behind the green door, and Betty at number 35 behind the black door. She’d regretted painting it that colour because she had to wash it every day. Tom and Pippa had been living behind the red door, but moved away when their only son was killed in the Iraq War. Marjorie knew every member of every family that lived behind those coloured doors.
>>>>>
Pulling the wheelchair off him, her husband let out a groan. “Blimey Nora!” he said.
“Well, I do keep telling you,” she replied.
“But it’s so much fun!” He was sitting with a blanket over his thin legs. “And when you can’t feel anything anymore because your body has given up on you, it’s so nice to feel the wind in your face.”
Her lips turned up a little at the corners. “I suppose. Again?”
“Yes, please!”
~~~

Laura Besley

If you’d like to check out more of my writing, flash fiction and non-fiction, check out my  blog: Living Loving and Writing. Or you can follow me on twitter @laurabesley or connect on facebook Laura Besley Writer

 

 

>>>>>

>

3 Responses to “Flash Fortnightly #16”

  1. Nisha June 13, 2013 at 7:40 am #

    Oh dear, more sinister thoughts had entered my mind after the second paragraph. But I’m glad the husband was enjoying himself 😉

    • laurabesley June 23, 2013 at 8:52 am #

      It’s intended to throw you off the scent, so I’m pleased it achieved what it should have! 😉

  2. James Tam June 22, 2013 at 10:06 am #

    Ha ha! Excellent. Very different from your more recent ones 🙂

Leave a Reply

